We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hike”
Review of Lily Pad Lake

Lily Pad Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We enjoyed our hike with a teenager and young adult children along. It was beautiful and we saw a moose right off the trail. Great for out-of-towners not used to more difficult hikes. We found it to be about a two hour hike with taking time to enjoy the trail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Indymediatypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
263 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A magic place - expect solitude, peace and beauty”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First the sad part: I brought the ashes of my best friend here. That's what he asked for. I know why. This is a magical place in the summer and the nature, peace and quiet (and the Lily on the lake of course) will touch you too. When I hikes there last summer, we were surprised to be assaulted by mosquitos - did not expect that, but Colorado had lots of rain - so brings mosquito spray! Don't miss this easy, 1hour hike from the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tvonruex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hike for kids, slightly longer than advertised”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We've done this hike several times with our kids, and although the sign at the trail head says it is a 1.32 mile trail (2.6 round trip), our mileage always comes out about a mile longer. Not a big deal, but be prepared for a slightly longer hike, especially if your hiking companions have short legs.

The parking area along the road fills up quickly on weekends, so be sure to arrive early to get a decent spot, and to avoid the mid-afternoon thunderstorms that occur so frequently in this part of Colorado. Towards the beginning of the trail, a vast portion of the hillside has been killed to remove trees affected by the pine beetles. While it's not the most pleasant part of the trail, the cutting did open up a great view of Lake Dillon and Keystone. The hike is generally a slow climb, bot nothing steep or technical. There are lots of tree roots and boulders along the trail, so leave the stroller back at the car. In wetter conditions, several parts of the trail can become muddy; embrace the nature and deal with it, rather than creating your own side trails. Dirt washes out most of the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Velophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Family friendly hike”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great picnic hike. Beautfiul view. DO BRING BUG REPELLENT. This is a moderate family and dog friendly hike. There are a couple of stream crossings, but nothing dangerous. EAsy parking at the trail head.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best Little Hike!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We love this hike in the winter and the summer. Beautiful vistas, lots of people, awesome little lakes and a great spot for a picnic! We live just down the road and will always enjoy our Lily Pad Lake hikes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lily Pad Lake also viewed

 

Been to Lily Pad Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing