We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the town of Silverton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Ranked #2 of 5 Silverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed in this excellent B&B in Silverton. We were in town for a ski trip, and the House was perfect for our stay. Great breakfast in the morning from William and Amy and they were both very helpful with any questions we had. The town itself had a variety of bars and restaurants all walking distance from the Inn. I can highly recommend the Alma House and will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Silverton.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

My stay at the Alma House was excellent. William and Amy provided service that was delightful in every way. The food was amazing. The room was cozy. This is the best place to stay in Silverton. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My buddies and I planned a ski trip to Silverton for the first time and stumbled on the Crown Jewel of this mining town. The "Alma House" as it is best know in the town, is truly a special place and the inn keepers, Amy and William were over the top, from the Amazing Breakfasts that Amy cooked to William starting our car in the morning to ensure we didn't have to start our day with a cold drive to the mountain.

This cozy little place had a lot of attention made to all the fine details of the decor- such as the antique furniture / mirrors / photos / pictures / wall paper / dishes. We stayed in the large, top floor suite which had a feather king bed, trundle and a roll away, down pillows, plush robes for a trip to the spa and two fireplace heaters. There was always an aroma of something in the oven. In the evening, homemade cookies were offered which were on a plate placed on the bottom stair post of the stairway and I still think there was some magic linked to that cookie plate, every time I turned around the plate was full again, did I really eat all those cookies or not?

There are two gazebos outside - one has a hot tub - the other is for kicking back and enjoying the moment! This was my favorite spot after full days of skiing and hiking Silverton Mountain.

Breakfast Was Amazing! Every morning started with a smoothie waiting for us when we arrived. We we served stuffed french toast, Belgian Waffles, delicious orange juice ---And, homemade granola!!!

We can't wait for our next trip to Silverton and the Alma House.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice facilities and a good hot tub...but that's not what makes it great. William and Amy, the owners, are over the top. The food is phenomenal and cooked to order. They take your keys and warm your car up in the morning. They'll open and close the hot tub for you. Basically, it's like staying with a REALLY helpful and cheerful version of your family. Maybe the best service of any B&B I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Alma House. Breakfast was great and perfect for a day of powder skiing! Soaking our soar bones in the hot tub afterwards, and eating Amy's delicious home made cookies, made for a relaxing evening. It snowed all day and night, and in the morning, William even brushed the snow off our car. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibylle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Inn of the Rockies over New Year's weekend and loved it! The rooms were perfect and welcoming, and the outdoor hottub was perfect after a day of skiing! Amy and William were so accomodating - they even went out of their way to make me delicious gluten-free food for breakfast to meet my dietary needs. They make the best gluten-free waffle I've ever had! They also know a lot about the very interesting history of the area, and it was a pleasure to chat with them in the charming sitting room by the fire. This B&B is also in walking distance of all the restaurants and shops in town, and of course just a quick drive up to the ski hill. Great value for the price! We will definitely stay here again for a ski or summer trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have been fortunate to stay in some of the best hotels in the world and I can honestly say that the Inn of the Rockies is very special. The hotel is clean and comfortable with beautifully furnished rooms and comfortable beds. Amy and Will made sure we had everything we needed and more. They also made our children feel very welcome and at home. The breakfasts were outstanding; French Toast with Bourbon Sauce and Rasberry Compote, Eggs Benedict, homemade breads... We have recommended this hotel to some friends and will definitely be back ourselves.

Room Tip: The top floor room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollygolightly0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.2 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
88 reviews
12 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
89 reviews
0 mi away
Blair Street Hostel
Blair Street Hostel
#9 of 9 in Silverton
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House

Address: 220 E 10th Street, PO Box 359, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silverton
Price Range: £103 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by the New York Times, the Guardian newspaper of London, and others. Silverton's Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House is the absolute best value in luxury accommodations you will find anywhere in the Colorado Rockies. We offer feather beds, wi-fi, a large outdoor hot tub, a full served breakfast, personal attention and gracious hospitality, all within the historic home Bridget Hughes' built 115 years ago. While you may book online at various sites, we would prefer to hear from you personally as well to insure a relaxed and peaceful visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing