We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mine Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour

Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mine Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The mine is located right outside Silverton and is a really cool experience. You take a short mine train ride through a dripping wet tunnel after being outfitted in jackets and helmets and learn a little about mining. The whole tour took about an hour. During the summer there are tours every hour and when we arrived back, they almost immediately started loading up the next group. Each tour is led by a miner (Ouray) or ex-miner, so they can offer a lot of personal insight. My kds really enjoyed learning about the mine and how things operated. There a few things for purchase at the mine, such as little bottles filled with gold, silver, copper, and iron pirate. There is also free gold panning; can't say my kids found much, but they had fun. Certainly a unique experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LelahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Short but interesting introduction to gold mining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

For the money you get about a three minute train ride in a dark dripping damp tunnel, then a short circular tour showing how the rock is blasted and removed, and you get some idea of the daily routine if the miners, then you go out again, all in less than an hour.
personally, i would have liked to spend longer underground, walk further through the mine, and learn more, but this is perhaps a good introduction for children and other people with short attention spans.
The guide was a former miner who was entertaining and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“See the inner workings of a real mine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The mine is located about 5 miles outside of Silverton. Tours run every hour during the summer so we didn't have to wait long. Even better, there was a novelty gold panning area for the kids that's included in the tour price, where they can pan for gold, silver and copper.

The tour starts off on a small, open mine train where they take you a good ways into the mine itself. Be prepared... the mine stays a constant 47 degrees and you cross under dripping water at the entrance. Our tour guide was a former miner at the Old Hundred mine and walked us through it's history, geology and mining techniques and tools. Example: the quartz veins found in Galena mountain contained five minerals (gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc). Very interesting stuff. Our kids loved it and so did we.

Definitely worth doing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surge_of_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
212 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Felt what a miner went through for just a little while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited this really out of the way but very accessible mine while vacationing in the mountains of Silverton. Our guide was a miner and so knew his way around the tunnels, trams, lifts, drills, blasting, and so much about the history of the area. We had been atving on many of the trails around the area and just wanted to know more about why lines were strung from top to bottom of the mountains, why there were so many many holes in the rocks, how on earth the folks got such massive equipment up a trail no bigger than 70 inches.
Our guide gave us a geology lesson, a history lesson and little spun stories I am sure. He made it fun for the kids from 4 to 64 to take the tour. You actually go into the mine on a mine care, where the drilling and blasting equipment is still in working order and they show you how it worked, and the kids can sort of have a hands on experience (without the danger) of drilling and blasting the copper ore. Most informative and fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old Hundred Mine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Set in spectacular surroundings and just a few minutes north of Silverton, the Old Hundred Mine is well worth a visit. The short trip underground in an open car is fun and not at all scary and once down to the old working level the guided tour is interesting and your guide knowledgeable. Temperature is cool but the provided waterproof jacket helps, wear a jacket if you feel the cold. Tunnels are spacious and airy so it isn't claustrophobic. Don't be afraid to ask questions, that's what your guide is there for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterGoodbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Old Hundred Gold Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing