We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited for a morning fishing stuff”
Review of Molas Pass

Molas Pass
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Visited for a morning fishing stuff”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We drove up to the Lake (about 4 miles from Silverton) and enjoyed a pleasant morning of fishing. There were several groups of people fishing, some from side of lake, some in belly boats in the water and a couple in boats. Also a couple on paddle boards.

There are numerous campsite areas around and near the lake. Not sure what the charge is to camp, there was no charge to fish.

Beautiful area and many wild flowers on the mountain side.
We drove over Molas Pass to Durango and it is a nice drive. Much more relaxing than the pass from Ouray into Silverton!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flagstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
578 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a great place The view is fantastic. We are here every year and I never get tired of it. There is a pretty little lake and nice picnic area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“purest air you'll ever breath.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Elevation approx. 10,000, cleanest, purest air you'll ever breath is in this region! Has a lookout over the mountains and I believe you can see approx. 6 miles out into the distance. outstanding

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rchrist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This MIGHT be the best campground in Colorado”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We loved it. Absolutely loved it.
Four of us on motorcycles. After touring Arizona, and Utah, last night before heading back to Texas was at Molas Lake Campground. When we got there, they had lost our reservation. The man told us that he was sorry and could refund our pre-payment. NO! That's won't do. It' late in the afternoon and we have no other place to stay.
So he took us to a new part of the area that hadn't been improved yet. NOPE. Won't do. We're on motorcycles and couldn't even get to the area.
Then, he decided that since they were over-booked, it was first come (with reservations) first served. He gave us a GREAT campsite with an area as big as a football field to pitch our tents. We didn't use 1/4 of the area.
He also gave us $20 worth of firewood and tokens for the bath (which I'll use next year) for our inconvenience. In the end, he really worked to accommodate us and make us happy.

The campground is quiet and scenic. I went out for a sunrise photography walk; hoped to find a moose standing in the pond near out campsite. Found 3 mule deer instead.

This place is idyllic. Silverton is only 11 miles or so away with restaurants, ice cream store, etc. We rode back to the campground on the Million Dollar Highway at night . . . and in the rain.

Didn't want to leave. Period. Could have stayed there 2 more nights. But we had to get back to DFW; so the next morning we reluctantly broke camp, loaded our motorcycles, and rode back down to Durango and eventually Tucumcary, NM.

I'll be going back to Molas Lake Campground, for sure. Next time, will spend more time in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UltraLimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I came across this campground by googling "best campgrounds in CO". Having seen it now firsthand, it's picturesque but nothing I haven't seen before. The lake is small and mostly popular with the anglers. Only a few parties kayaked during our stay and the lake stayed empty for the most part. Majority of the sites are NOT by the lakeshore. Maybe 5 or 6 have direct access to the lake. Since this campground is owned by the town of Silverton (private), you are not advised to just drive into this campground without a reservation. Sites are usually full during the summer even though we noticed MANY empty sites. According to the campground hosts, if a site is reserved and paid for by a party and they fail to show up on the 1st day, they will not let another party take it. You have to stop at the office before driving into the campground. The other huge disadvantage with this campground is that the campground hosts have total control as to which sites are assigned to whom. We were assigned a non-tent friendly site and we were refused a switch since according to the hosts, all sites are spoken for. There are tent walk-in sites which are the farthest from the lake. Not much of a walk from the parking lot (50-100 ft). The sites that start with "PV" appear to be the better sites. According to the hosts, you can make a request for a specific site when making your reservation in advance. Very few sites have privacy here.

There is water, sink, showers ($5 coined - 5min-ripoff!), ice bags for sale, trash dumpsters by the office. We were not happy with the campground hosts here - husband made a "culturally ignorant/biased" comment about another party which I DID NOT appreciate. Apparently, starting next year, this couple will have total power with the reservation process. Just for the that reason alone, we will not be back to this campground. That's unfortunate since the lady I made a reservation with (office in town of Silverton) was very helpful.

The campground is only a 10-minute drive north on 550. Ice bags are cheaper at the liquor store in town. We had our best ice cream cones at "Wooden Indian". Best coffee from Avalanche Cafe and Cafe Mobius although it depended on who made the cappucino at Avalanche Cafe (young woman there made the best cappucino!). Ouray is 40 minutes north of Silverton. If you haven't been to Ouray- it's a must-see. It is referred to as the "Switzerland of America" - way prettier than Silverton. It is internationally known for its massive ice climbing park (man-made). We got our soak on at the Ouray Hot Springs pool ($12).

While we primarily rock climbed in Silverton and Ouray during our trip, we hiked the Ice Lakes trail (+12,000ft, 9mi RT, 5hr), drove to Animas Fork (ghost town), and Clear Lake. Be advised- road to Clear Lake is narrow, windy, and very rocky!!! FWD would be advantageous especially if raining but we did see a Subaru. We didn't have time or the opportunity to do the Highland Mary lake trail due to the weather but it is recommended. The trail to Ice lakes is fairly easy (not steep) for the first 3 miles. You do have to cross a tricky stream once you get to the valley so wear shoes with good traction. Majority of the hikers were older (at least in their 50s and over) so while it is a bit long, it's completely doable. The ice lake is turquoise....no joke! Probably one of the prettiest alpine lake in this state. There is another trail up to Island Lake from Ice Lake but we didn't have time to do it.

If you do not want to pay for camping, there are vast (and absolutely picturesque) areas of BLM land that are very popular with RV and tent campers. Wish we had known about this beforehand...we could have saved ourselves the $18/night that we paid at Molas Lake campground...for a bad site and little privacy. The San Juans are probably the most visually stunning area of Colorado and we have been everywhere that is worth visiting in this state minus the Great Sand Dunes. You can even camp up by the subalpine lake below Ice Lake and even up at Clear Lake. Campers brought their kayaks and kayaked on Clear Lake! The county road that takes you from 550 to Mineral Creek campground is where we found the free campers. We drove around Mineral Creek campground after our Ice Lakes hike and it was nice.

As I've said, there are other picturesque campgrounds in CO - if you haven't been to Lake City and Lake San Cristobal, I highly recommend it. The "Alpine Loop" off of 550 between Silverton and Ouray takes you into Lake City (this loop is unpaved and very popular with ATVers and FWDs). It's a great little town with restaurants. Little Molas Lake campground which is just south of Molas Lake is smaller, more primitive and prettier. I think it's free too so check it out if you're in the area (only 10 sites, no water or picnic tables).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molas Pass also viewed

 

Been to Molas Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing