We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barebones motel for the lowest cost in town”
Review of Prospector Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospector Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“barebones motel for the lowest cost in town”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

this motel is extremely barebones- no microwave or fridge in room, no ice machine, no desk lamp for reading. lighting was dim. but the room was clean, 40 cable tv channels, heat was good.
the walls are thin and you can hear traffic and plumbing noise, but at night it was rather quiet.
owner is friendly and helpful.
if you just need a place to sleep at the lowest rate, this motel is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
9
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was here with my boyfriend in June 2012 and we were satisfied. Room wasn't the newest but clean and comfortable, air conditioning worked. Owner was very friendly and helped with everything. We can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daska K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The pros: the price was much less than the competition, the rooms were clean, the WiFi was excellent, good location (but since Silverton is small, there are not too many bad locations), & the owner is very nice & helpful.

The cons: the bed visibly sagged & was not very comfortable, no toiletries except for soap, no clock in room (although there was a TV) and the appearance of the place is tired/outdated.

Not sure if we would stay here again unless the beds were updated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlmdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. The price may be budget but the heart of the guy that runs it, Andy is as wide as the Grand Canyon. He looks after you, helps you to find a place to eat and offers you great service. And not in a salesman like way but as a genuine guy. Better than any hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwakdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Over from the UK on a freestyle motoring vacation. The Prospector is a no frills very basic motel in the delightly dusty old town of Silverton Colorado. The rooms are clean, not much incoming light so appear a little dull. The bathroom was clean, there is heat and cooling, TV. The water was hot when needed. Andy the propietor is a very likeable man who is concerned about your stay and is there to help if needed. If you want to save a few dollars and dont require upstyled rooms then the Prospector fits the bill. John.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This was our second stay with Andy at the Prospector Motel in beautiful Silverton, Co. Our king room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Andy, the owner, was as affable as every, providing helpful information on places to go, things to see and roads to travel. The Prospector is not all shiny new but well-maintained with obvious loving care.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Don't let the outside fool you. We would stay here again without hesitation. We arrived without a reservation, but the owner, from the midwest was most accomodating to us. Our large room was very clean and quite. There is no pool, but we were there to see the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveSallyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
82 reviews
14.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Motel

Property: Prospector Motel
Address: 1015 Greene St., Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing