We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Summit RV Park and Jeep Rentals
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A bit concerned when we pulled in and we were assigned an inside row, but no worries the view is wonderful...from wherever you are parked...nice enough folks run the place...sites were level and wide enough. Ended up with 30 amp, though we thought we were getting 50 amp/same price. Not a lot of choices of places to stay in Silverton, we would return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Texanontheroad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Silver Summit RV Park and Jeep Rentals
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

First off great time and I would 100% come back! I initially rented a jeep for the day from another jeep rental facility only to find out that the office was located in Silverton, but the jeeps were located in Durango, about an hour away. By the time we had tracked down another jeep to rent it was about 10 in the morning. The people at Silver Summit were nice enough to extend our rental for another hour until 6 that evening since we were getting a late start. The trail they recommended was a blast and definitely the highlight of our trip. We actually enjoyed ourselves a bit too much and ended up returning about 15 mins late, which they were accommodating to as well.

Lastly, and the ultimate in customer service was when I realized I had lost my iPod. I had searched my luggage, my car, everywhere. So we decided to return to the Jeep rental place and see if they had found anything. Upon arriving they went out to the jeep we rented, and meticulously searched through the jeep and ended up finding my iPod jammed under the shift console. Above and beyond for sure!

If you are looking for a quality jeep and excellent customer service, Silver Summit is the jam!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Rented 2 jeeps. One was not ready on time. That was not a problem as we returned after 6:00 to get the jeep that was still not filled with gas. After we had or something,but it would not be a problem. We were told not to think that the front end was coming apart! It did not have a very good ride. It would have been nice to have been told earlier in the process or when we reserved it. It was a soft top( not a bikini top)without back windows. The front windows did not unzip either.The seats were wet. They charged full price for this jewel plus when we were a little late they charged us a full hour for being late without any accommendation. We called to tell them that we were going to be late and we were about 40 minutes late. We could have gone to town for the last 20 minutes if we had known that they were going to charge for a full hour regardless of when we arrrived. The other place we rented did not charge anything and said how much they appreciated us returning their jeep in good condition! Beware of this one!!! We have rented jeeps for years and have never had the experience that we had at this place. We have never paid a late charge either nor do we try to be later than they had asked us to return. Even after renting $300 plus of jeeps from them, they refused to give us $3 change for the laundry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our stay was very pleasant. The narrow Gage train was entertaining.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob2_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Going solely on the recommendation of a co-worker, we decided to rent a Jeep for our first four wheeling day trip in the wild mountains of Colorado! We were nervous about the experience but all fears were (mostly) allayed by the friendly people at the Silver Summit RV Park & Jeep Rental outfit in historic Silverton, Colorado. Our reservation was $135 for a full day, plus a few extra bucks for tire insurance...well worth it, as we'd already met guys who'd thrashed their tires on trips like this.
"What color would you like?" was a great question to answer with "Red, please," and so it went. We were given a hands-on tutorial of how to operate the Jeep and got excellent advice plus a map of the area at the rental office. After packing our gear for this day trip we were on our way out of town and up the mountains.
Narrow, rocky, switchbacked roads greeted us shortly up the hill. We scooted and wiggled and moved those stubby tires over stones and mud, sleet and rain...all the way up to the 12,800 feet of Engineer Pass. Along the way, beautiful alpine meadows greeted us with sprinkles of flowers in every color. Marmots snuggled cliffsides where the treeline ended, and rivulets of rain shimmered down rock faces and across the terrain. It was a scary adventure at times, but we knew when to turn back and head for base. The end of the day yielded tons of amazing photos and lots of great memories. The folks at Silver Summit were right to recommend the route we took, and we recommend this adventure to anyone!

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank thetisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.4 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
63 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
14.8 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Summit RV Park and Jeep Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Summit RV Park and Jeep Rentals

Address: 640 Mineral Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Silverton
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Summit Silverton
Silverton Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing