We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bent Elbow Hotel And Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Triangle Motel(Silverton)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teller House(Silverton)(Great Value!)
US$115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospector Motel(Silverton)(Great Value!)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Columbia(Telluride)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
12
13
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
13
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay here againbonnieupstairstraindurangomining
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I will always stay at the Bent Elbow when we visit Silverton as long as it is open. The restaurant downstairs is closed, but Avalanche Brewing Co. is RIGHT across the street and has delicious, quick food. The rooms are small, but get the job done for our stays during the winter skiing season. The walls are thin so you can hear other guests going up and down the hallways, but being such an old building I am not surprised. As far as the location from the main street, it's a quick walk.

A great way to experience some history in a wonderful town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxgirl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a return visit us. We chose the Bent Elbow for the spectacular view from the balcony.

Room was clean. There were two of us and when we arrived, there was only one towel and washcloth. Picked up the phone and called downstairs and it goes to a recording. Other than that no real problem. Walls are very thin, but that's just part of staying in a historic building.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Previous reviews misleading to a point. Place is up for sale. Reasturant hours not even open when posted. No breakfast. No piano player. Food acceptable. Clean room, cute decor. Wonderful balcony views. Staff courteous but not engaging.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldcolt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the Bent Elbow back in May and returned in Sept. with my wife. We stayed in the Western room, which has furniture and pictures that fit the Western theme. The room was a little cramped for two people but the bathroom was plenty big.

The room got a little warm at times, but that was remedied by turning on the ceiling fan or by opening the window. It was actually rather nice to sleep with the window cracked to let the fresh mountain air in, although there wasn't a screen so we had to be careful to not let too many flying insects in.

One night we heard a little piano music from the restaurant/bar downstairs but it wasn't objectionable and generally the place was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly.

Our room window faced neighboring buildings instead of the street. You could see the mountains over the tops of the buildings in town. Although not a great view, this was insignificant when you consider the views around town and just outside of town. It would have been nice to sit out on the balcony that a couple of rooms have access to, so we will consider those rooms for a future visit.

The hotel is located very conveniently on Blair Street within walking distance of just about everything.

We ate a full breakfast downstairs in the restaurant every morning before we went exploring. It wasn't free but it was fresh, hot, delicious, and very satisfying...and worth every penny. One morning though, I tried some kind of green chili burrito and it had way too much cheese and green chili for me. The people who waited on us were all very friendly and laid back. They often gave us advice about what to see and do around town.

All of the rooms are on the second floor and accessible via one long flight of stairs. The first story is perhaps 12-14 feet high so the climb to the second floor can leave you winded when you get to the top, especially if you are carrying luggage. Once you get used to the altitude it gets a little easier.

They fixed the deadbolt lock on the door since I was here in May (Thanks!).

Our only complaints were:

- When the room was cleaned they didn't refill/restock items that needed it. The hand soap dispenser was empty the whole three days we were there even though we mentioned it downstairs after the first day. They did not restock toilet paper until we were completely out even though I mentioned that as well. And they did not restock the in-room coffee supplies until after I asked them to.
- The TV remote worked but not very well. The power button did not work at all so you had to turn it on and off at the TV.

In spite of any complaints, We left with a favorable opinion of The Bent. The clean, comfortable room, mostly great breakfasts, friendly hosts, and convenient location make it hard to beat. We would definitely recommend The Bent to others and will consider staying here again upon return.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony access might cost a little more, but it seems like it would be worth it. We will probably choose one of those next time.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed for one night in this picturesque hotel, and very much liked the well preserved ''western" atmosphere of both the hotel and the small town of Silverton. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the bed was ok, but we regretted there was no (small) refrigerator. During the night there was no noise from outside but this may have been associated with the fact that we were the only (!) guests - June 12 - that night.
We had a tasteful steak in the restaurant, and enjoyed some Durango brewn bottles of beers, after being a little surprised that in the (beautiful!) saloon no draft beer was available. The cost-quality balance was just ok, but the owners should be reluctant to increase the rates. After all, it was a very pleasant experience and we can recommend this unique hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h_vanbuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews