We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Dallavalle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Dallavalle
Ranked #1 of 5 Silverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lisa and her family were absolutely wonderful! We were there a little early in the season and they made us feel right at home. The breakfast in the morning was amazing and we were given a complete history of the family. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We were only in town for one night because we were driving the Million Dollar Highway. Lisa checked on road openings for us and gave us tips on seeing Silverton and the drive to Ouray. The next day we actually ran into Lisa, her husband, Bill, and her parents in Ouray and they made us feel welcome all over again. Can't say enough great things about this B&B!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missingbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
66
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked one night, stayed two and wanted to stay forever! Great, quaint accommodations for this B&B. The Manager/owner? were out for the week and this cool dude from ABQ was running the place. Great breakfast, Wine & cheese in the afternoon and learned a few things. Place clean, easy and great rate. I loved strolling the halls for the photo history of Silverton. I would actually plan a stay here the next time we come up to look for fall color.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
292 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Last September 2013 my husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night only while touring out west, and we regretted it that we couldn't stay longer.

The hotel was built in 1901 by grandfather Dalla Valle, and this is the fourth generation of the Dalla Valle family that takes care of the hotel.
The façade of the hotel isn't especially remarkable, but the inside of the hotel is truly charming. and the owners are very congenial.

When we arrived around 5 pm., we were welcomed by Nancy, Gerald and Bill; Lisa was out of town.
Nancy gave us the key to our room (nr. 6), and told us that we could have some free wine, crackers and cheese in the diningroom, as a sort of happy hour treat.
The guests can have this every evening between 5 and 6 pm.

It was a very nice touch, and an excellent way to get to know the owners and the other guests.
When we asked her about it, Nancy also suggested restaurants for dinner.
She even had menus of some of them.
We chose to go to "the handlebars", as the Italian place across the street was closed on a Sunday. We enjoyed our dinner there.

The hotel rooms upstairs all have their own style, and colourscheme.
They all have charming old furniture and old family pictures combined with modern features such as a flatscreen tv and a modern bathroom.There also were two bathrobes and fluffy towels in the room.The bathroom was small but adequate, with a toilet and a good shower.

The bed was very good, and although room nr 6 didn't have a window, it had a skylight, so you could see what kind of weather it was outside.

The hallway is decorated with pictures of steamtrains and other quaint things, and there was a chared refrigerator for the guests. The door at the end of the hallway leads to a terras with a hot tub , but we didn't make use of it.

Breakfast was at 8 am sharp., and it was a very homely and free and easy affair, with all the guests sitting at the same table.
There was fresh fruit (amongst which delicious peaches), yoghurt, cereals, but also eggs and lots of other things to choose from, and coffee or different kinds of tea.

Silverton is a small town with many old historic buildings,an information center, a miners and heritage museum and a mine that can be visited. Because it was past Labour day when we got in Silverton, the mine was closed for the season.

The Durango-Silverton narrow gauge steam train stops for a few hours in Silverton before returning to Durango, but tickets must be bought in the train station in Durango.

We had a short but wonderful stay in Silverton and we can really recommend Villa Dalla Valle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 59th anniversary 8-31-13. We had been out west 2 other times and both times visited Silverton, Col. The first time we rode the train up to Silverton from Durango and back. The next time we spent only one night. We decided this trip we would go fewer places but stay longer. We started out in Jackson Hole, Wy, then to Las Vegas, then to Sedona, Ar, then to our favorite place Silverton, Col. I looked on Internet and found the B&B Villa Dallavalle. I called from Durango and talked to Lisa and she assured me the roads were ok. She was right on. We arrived and felt so at home from the very minute we walked in. Loved our room and since Donald loves football so good, he loved the big screen where he could watch Alabama play. I went downstairs and a friend of the family gave a mini concert. The breakfast each morning was so good and different each day. Every one was so nice and friendly, Mr Gerald and Mrs Nancy and Lisa and Bill. I am so glad we stayed here. The only parks we were going to were The Arches and Canyon Land. While we were in Silverton they opened up the parks and my sweet husband took me all the way back up to Moab, Ut to these parks. The night before we left, they said we might get a dusting. Woke up to about 5 or 6 inches of snow, I was scared because we had to go across the pass to Uray. We waited until about 10:00 to leave and Lisa assured me again that the roads would be ok. She was right again. I can not say enough about this wonderful place and the sweet people. All I can stay is if you are in Silverton and there is availability, please try to stay here. What a wonderful 3weeks trip. Had fun but was good to get home to our families. June and Donald Horton, Gadsden, Alabama.

Room Tip: I was not paying attention, there was no swimming pool nor fitness center but they did get excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneandDonaldHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a fascisnating old hotel that has been in the same family since the early 20th c. The owner and her parents were present when we arrived rather late at night and off season. They were most welcoming. Our room was clean and nice with warm bathrobes. It's true breakfast is at 8 am rather sharp, but it was tasty. It feels good to support a local family. Also, when we arrived, though late, we were offered wine and cheese which was very nice.

Room Tip: Our room near the front had opposing windows and nice views, Was a great en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Villa on an overnight hiking trip - Lisa and the staff were always there if we needed anything and elsewhere when we didn't! Our room was small but had everything we needed and for the price - outstanding! Breakfast was ready at 8:00 AM sharp and we were on our way. We can recommend the Villa for clean, comfortable accommodations - and walking distance to anywhere in town. Thanks again Lisa!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuindurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

First, we had a nice stay here and would stay again despite some of the downfalls of historic properties. First, the good -- the owners were absent but their "fill-in" host was very nice and extremely helpful. The property is charming and well-kept. The breakfast was nice but if you want seconds, get them quick as they may disappear. The cheese/crackers in the afternoon were very nice and just what we needed when we arrived.

The cons are those you come to expect with historic properties and that is lack of size and sound proofing. Fortunately, there were only two other people staying at the same time and so noise was at a minimum. However, I suspect it can get quite noisy with more guests. We stayed in Room 6 as we wanted a king size bed. We were quite surprised, though, when we opened the door. Rather than repeat something, I suggest you read the review entitled "Time Warp." We agree with that description of the room. We did take a a peak at some of the other unoccupied rooms as the doors were open. All were small but Room 7 was larger and very nice. Of course, it is more expensive. We would probably opt for this room in the future, especially if we were staying more than one night.

Overall, a charming place to stay but realize what you get/don't get with historic properties.

Room Tip: If you need space, opt for Room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.0 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#3 of 7 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
11.9 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
14.4 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
15.3 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dallavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dallavalle

Property: Villa Dallavalle
Address: 1257 Blair Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located on notorious Blair Street, close to shops and restaurants. We offer first class accommodations including a hot full breakfast and wireless internet. All rooms include private bath with plush robes, flatscreens, 500+ thread count sheets and magnificent views of the San Juan Mountains. Think of the Villa Dallavalle as your 'Home away from home'. We invite you to experience winter, summer and every season, at it's very best! Fourth generation Inn Keepers. Microwave and fridge on site Hot tub with plush robes Large side yard in the summer with a fire pit for play and relaxing ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing