We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay while in Silverton!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyman Hotel and Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The place to stay while in Silverton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, authentic victorian style hotel, with all the modern amenities. Our room was the 'railroad room' - a gorgeous king suite with a jacuzzi tub and a view of the mountains. The proprietor, Tana, was phenomenal... She always had a smile on her face and made us feel right at home.The amenities provided were beyond what we expected, including the very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. We found a new favorite place to be, and will definitely be back...stay here, you will be happy you did! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    28
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Fantastic Bed & Breakfast Experience.
Very nice personal touch given to the guests.
Rooms & Bed are cleaned every day with exceptional detail.
Breakfast was very good, usually served egg dishes.
Nice atmosphere in main lobby for meeting and talking to other
guests in the afternoons & evenings.
If I go to Silverton again, I would automatically stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevator Room was very spacious & comfortable. Note they do have a limited number of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you want to step back in time stay here. It was fun to stay here. Not modern at all, so if you want all the bells and whistles you will be disappointed. The owners were gracious and welcoming. The afternoon cheese and wine was fun and gave me an opportunity to meet the other guests. By far the best thing was breakfast. I felt like a queen and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigold183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everything about this turn of the century, boutique hotel was great. They have large rooms, many with jacuzzi tubs. They have satellite TV and a huge DVD library. The location is on the main street with many rooms overlooking the street. If you have bad knees, like me, you will want to book first floor room.

I must also commend them for their honesty and high level of service. I forgot my wedding ring on the dresser when we checked out. The maid found it and the owner called me within an hour. They mailed me the ring at no charge. That is exceptional in this day and age.

Room Tip: no elevator so go first floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbarnett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We drove into the tiny town of Silverton late afternoon. Walking into the reception area, you feel like you are walking back in time to the Old West. The check-in counter is solid wood and the animal heads around the place and the antique furniture make it even more authentic and authenticity was what we were looking for throughout the trip. We stayed in the" Elevator Room" , nice, large room on the ground floor with its own sitting area. The old elevator has been replaced with a bathtub and mood lighting. (There is a regular shower however in the bathroom). Comfortable beds, good sleep (room is not facing Main Street). The owners were very friendly and informative, especially with my questions about nearby jeep trails. Don't miss the caboose in the garden. This is actually a room. The location is great as you can get anywhere on foot. Be sure to read up on the history of Silverton and wander through the old Streets such as Blair, just one block over. This is also a good location to use as headquarters if you are doing day trips . We didn't experience the steam locomotive from Silverton to Durango but understand that réservations are a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Wyman Hotel and was so happy that I selected this hotel. It is in an historic building in the centre of Silverton and ideal for exploring this quaint town. I loved being picked up in the special Wyman bus when I got off the train. Breakfasts are large and gourmet quality, my room was perfect and the hospitality was first class. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and I hope to return again.

Room Tip: I loved my room on the second floor and each room is unique. Great choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We took the bus from Durango, spent the night in Silverton and took the train back the next afternoon. I booked this hotel for the night based on the reviews here. It is, indeed, the best hotel in town. The four of us (two adults, two kids) stayed in the Kendall Mountain Suite, which consists of two bedrooms, a separate TV room and an en-suite bath. At the end of a busy day, it was great for the kids to be able to unwind in the TV room (with the door closed!) while we read in bed. We also enjoyed tea at 4pm. There's also wine & cheese at 5pm which was tempting but the kids were ready for dinner. Breakfast was served in a cute little room with tables set for each family/group of travelers. It was the best meal of our trip...quiche and potatoes, juice, tea, coffee and a fruit smoothie. My younger son is a very picky eater and they went out of their way to offer something he would eat. The innkeepers are very friendly. One thing I wasn't able to judge easily from their website is the distance from the train. It's really not very far at all, about a five minute walk.

Room Tip: The Kendall Mountain Suite is perfect for families (one queen bed in one room, one queen and one twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#3 of 7 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
13.1 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Property: The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing