We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the top Victorian experience.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
East Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
“Over the top Victorian experience.....”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rode up on the train and stayed two nights in the Wyman. We opt'd for the Bed and Breakfast full experience. Tana (the owner) was there at the station waiting for us in a trolley car, she was so friendly and really went out of her way to make our stay the very best. The building itself is absolutely amazing and the food is gourmet, an experience like no other. We truly didn't want to leave, the town is so friendly and the people there are so easy to talk to. The view is beyond words and the Wyman experience was the icing on the cake. The bed was so comfortable and we had a whirlpool bath in our room. Watching the sun rise in the tub is pretty darn awesome. We will plan another trip and this is going to be a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: We had the wildflower room, but the train room looked equally nice. The wildflower room is in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    28
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
driggs
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Right downtown and walking distance to everything. The rooms were all decorated differently in "period" themes. The breakfast and afternoon wine party are included and we met some lovely people. Despite the fact we liked the Wyman, Silverton is pretty destitute with many closed storefronts and if we had it to do again we'd probably skip it and go directly to Ouray which is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, authentic victorian style hotel, with all the modern amenities. Our room was the 'railroad room' - a gorgeous king suite with a jacuzzi tub and a view of the mountains. The proprietor, Tana, was phenomenal... She always had a smile on her face and made us feel right at home.The amenities provided were beyond what we expected, including the very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. We found a new favorite place to be, and will definitely be back...stay here, you will be happy you did! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Fantastic Bed & Breakfast Experience.
Very nice personal touch given to the guests.
Rooms & Bed are cleaned every day with exceptional detail.
Breakfast was very good, usually served egg dishes.
Nice atmosphere in main lobby for meeting and talking to other
guests in the afternoons & evenings.
If I go to Silverton again, I would automatically stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevator Room was very spacious & comfortable. Note they do have a limited number of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you want to step back in time stay here. It was fun to stay here. Not modern at all, so if you want all the bells and whistles you will be disappointed. The owners were gracious and welcoming. The afternoon cheese and wine was fun and gave me an opportunity to meet the other guests. By far the best thing was breakfast. I felt like a queen and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigold183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everything about this turn of the century, boutique hotel was great. They have large rooms, many with jacuzzi tubs. They have satellite TV and a huge DVD library. The location is on the main street with many rooms overlooking the street. If you have bad knees, like me, you will want to book first floor room.

I must also commend them for their honesty and high level of service. I forgot my wedding ring on the dresser when we checked out. The maid found it and the owner called me within an hour. They mailed me the ring at no charge. That is exceptional in this day and age.

Room Tip: no elevator so go first floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbarnett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We drove into the tiny town of Silverton late afternoon. Walking into the reception area, you feel like you are walking back in time to the Old West. The check-in counter is solid wood and the animal heads around the place and the antique furniture make it even more authentic and authenticity was what we were looking for throughout the trip. We stayed in the" Elevator Room" , nice, large room on the ground floor with its own sitting area. The old elevator has been replaced with a bathtub and mood lighting. (There is a regular shower however in the bathroom). Comfortable beds, good sleep (room is not facing Main Street). The owners were very friendly and informative, especially with my questions about nearby jeep trails. Don't miss the caboose in the garden. This is actually a room. The location is great as you can get anywhere on foot. Be sure to read up on the history of Silverton and wander through the old Streets such as Blair, just one block over. This is also a good location to use as headquarters if you are doing day trips . We didn't experience the steam locomotive from Silverton to Durango but understand that réservations are a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#3 of 7 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Property: The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing