We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Teller House
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triangle Motel(Silverton)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospector Motel(Silverton)(Great Value!)
US$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smedleys Suites(Silverton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
45
31
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
31
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomprivate bathrestaurant downstairspeace and quietsecond floorour room was spaciouslong set of stairsflights of stairscheckin deskmexican restaurantonly complaint would behistoric feelcoffee and teafree wifino elevatordouble queenthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Okay, so I'm not the biggest fan of lace and other victorian stuff; however I really loved this place. Our trip was mainly a camping adventure, but after a couple days of camping at Mesa Verde and a long car drive. . . we decided to stay in a hotel, in Silverton, before heading to our next camping destination.

The Teller House is 100 years old, but totally refurbished. It's the traditional set up with the hotel above the cafe. The refurbish fits every aspect of the building, and the town; and isn't victorian just for the sake of being so. We stayed in a spacious, double queen bedroom with a shared bathroom. The hotel is very clean, the beds are comfy and the bathrooms are very big, with great water pressure. There are no TV's in the rooms, but there's a shared lounge to watch TV; which is a great place to chat with other travelers. They have nice cosy white robes and big fluffy towels. But what really makes Teller House such a great place, is the staff. Everyone was very welcoming and gave us a lot of information about the hotel and surrounding area.

A few notable details:
In the main hall/reception area a couple of framed pieces of wall paper, with sketches of people, children and animals. These illustrations were unearthed during the renovation. An unedited little peak into the past—love the illustration of the woman putting the baby on a pissing pot; what an odd subject to illustrate.

Great big skylights, above the staircase and the woman's bathroom . . . probably in the men's too. These had been covered up for years and have been uncovered and restored—beautiful.

In the cafe, behind the bar, another picture of the place before the referb—1970's with macramé plant hanging, wood paneling and all—what a difference!

In the cafe you can get a traditional California green burrito—yummy.

Room Tip: They have rooms with and without bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrangeGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I booked this hotel after viewing other TA reviews, seeing the lovely pictures on line and knowing that it was located on the main street in town (there is only ONE paved street in town!). The hotel was easy to locate with convenient parking. It was however difficult to lug 4 suitcases up the flight of steps to the check in area/rooms. About suitcase #3 a nice man who worked there did offer to help. A different man checked us in, who when I inquired, was not the owner. He was pleasant but not overly friendly. That was the last we saw of anyone. We were told by the man who worked there that if we needed anything, to go down to the restaurant and ask. We tried that..the restaurant was open but void of patrons or staff. We were in room 9, which was very charming. If you need large bedrooms/bathrooms (there were 4 of us with 1 bag each), travel heavy, or need assistance of any kind, this is not the place. Despite having luggage on chairs/floor, the bedding was comfy with a cooling ceiling fan, and the 4 of us managed. This hotel is on main street which did get very noisy at night. There was a bench direclty across the street, in front of one of the shops where several drunken young people decided to hang out until the wee hours. Bring your silicone ear plugs..foam rubber ones will not do!
There was a cold water decanter available, and considering one of my kids had elevation sickness this was a plus. There is a small room that has a TV in it (none of the posted channels matched what was actually on the TV) where you can get coffee/tea/hot coca in the am-big deal. Our cost was about 185$ for 1 night, which was the 2nd highest price only to a downtown Santa Fe location. Yes the hotel was quaint, but I really would have liked better service and to get a little more bang for my buck.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Famontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Rudy and his staff were exceptional! HAPPY 50th, RUDY! Will stay here from now on. The food is great! Stays open long after the sidewalks roll up.

Room Tip: Romantic setting AND centrally located.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravenklaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This is definitely where we'll stay again next trip. Knowledgeable hosts about all kinds of things to do around Silverton that we wouldn't have otherwise known about. Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zumatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I recently stayed at this property for an extended period of time.
The experience was really great!
It had the feel of a B and B but was a full service hotel.
It was comfortable and the staff was really friendly and accomodating.
I would highly reccomned The Teller House!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlinmotion101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews