We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed....”
Review of Teller House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teller House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed....”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is not a bed and breakfast as we were led to believe when we booked this room. They no longer serve breakfast. The restaurant downstairs isn't open for breakfast either. We paid more for our room than you would pay at the B&Bs in town. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast, look elsewhere. We shopped around (for next time) and found a couple of very nice B&Bs in town. You will pay less, get a room with a private bath, AND have a wonderful breakfast. The friendly, make-you-feel-at-home atmosphere you would expect from a B&B was missing here as well. (One of the reasons we enjoy staying at B&Bs) Staff seemed un-interested in the hospitality business. We loved the town and will be back but we will stay elsewhere. The Teller House was clean and beautiful and included Wi-Fi but the room lacked a ceiling fan and was hot and stuffy. The restaurant downstairs was noisy until late at night. Just not a whole lot of good to report about this place. Sorry......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ima_Homesick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany d, Guest Services and PR at Teller House, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
The Teller House Hotel is represented by other reservation services on the internet, and we do not always have the control we need to make sure all information is updated, which was the instance in this case, i.e. the breakfast that was not included. We do have room service available for dinner from the full-service restaurant on property. We serve coffee and tea every morning, and have windows that we open regularly in the Summer months for ventilation here at almost 10,000 feet in elevation. Air conditioning is not needed here in the high Colorado mountains where we are located and fresh mountain air is truly refreshing! We are definitely a unique stay here in Silverton with original history of the hotel all around...every room being uniquely decorated and situated. We also have new front desk staff and concierge services for you here at The Teller House Hotel. We appreciate our visitors and guests and look forward to seeing you again. Our ratings speak loudly as well... Thank you, from the Teller House Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    27
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
31
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Odessa, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a very clean place with lots of antiques. A couple thing you need to know is that there is no elevator & very steep stairway to haul your luggage up & to get to your room. We had a room with 2 beds, the beds were very comfortable. There's no air conditioning (normally it's cool in this high of elevation) but since it was a warmer night we had the ceiling fan & windows open. The only problem being we go to bed early and heard everyone down on Main St. leaving the bars and talking with friends, locking/unlocking their cars & starting their cars. If it had been cooler & we'd had our windows closed this wouldn't of bothered us. Also this is a B&B that no longer serves breakfast. They have tea & coffee I believe in the morning. It was very clean & the innkeeper was very nice. There are rooms with private baths (like ours) and also rooms that use the shared 'mens' or 'womens' bath/bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy_Jackson1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days while skiing at Silverton. I loved the decor and historic feel about the place. Despite it being older, it was extremely clean and well-kept. No TV's, but free Wi-Fi! Coffee & tea at all hours was a nice touch. Very much like a B&B, as you'll get to know the other people staying there. Great location- especially since the mexican restaurant below was amazing. Only thing we wished for was a hot tub, though I don't think there are any places in Silverton with a hot tub. Would highly recommend staying at the Teller House!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

In context with the town, this was a reasonable place to stay. There was no breakfast although I was told there was. The rooms are old but so is the whole town! Quite comfortable bed not much else in the way of facilities but friendly staff. Ok and would use again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmphanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My hubby and I stayed one night in Silverton durring a long weekend getaway. The room was absolutely adorable! Cozy, charming and comfortable! The only complaint from the hubby was the shared bathroom but some rooms do have private bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt-n-Wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean old time style hotel. Rooms are exactly as they show on there website. If your expecting a 5 star resort this is not it. It a neat little place in the heart of Silverton. Great coffee in the morning also.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgullick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice Victorian B & B style room. We had our own bathroom but not all do. Great decor. Check in was a note on the desk that said which room and keys on the bed stand. A communal hotel usually has a staff member that makes you feel like family and brings other travelers together. The experience lacked the sizzle of the history of the building, the communal gathering room and the tea room had just that. Oh what the smell of fresh cookies or muffins could have done. Someone was there to check us out in the morning but still no sizzle. This could have been an experience but turned out to be just a room in a town full of stories just not there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.0 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
59 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
901 reviews
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
15.0 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teller House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teller House

Property: Teller House
Address: 1250 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teller House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teller House combines the tasteful Victorian aesthetics of the late 1800's with modern amenities, such as FREE WiFi, Cable TV in Hospitality/Meeting Room, Room Service from on-site restaurant. Our guests experience an alchemy of Victorian charm and gracious hospitality, with concierge services. We will provide you with a small refrigerator in your room, if needed. We also will carry your luggage/bags in and out for you. We are located in the heart of Silverton, within walking distance of restaurants, museums, and many Summer/Winter activities! Please review our amenities, and come stay with us at the historic Teller House Hotel in beautiful Silverton, Colorado! We are at your service..."Please make yourself at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Teller House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teller House Hotel Silverton
Teller Hotel Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing