We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice warm stay at the Teller House”
Review of Teller House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teller House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a very comfortable stay at the Teller House. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Silverton and just steps from the restaurants, coffee house, and bars. This was key because it was January and very cold! The hotel was warm, our room large, our bed comfy. What more can you want? The friendly staff were great at helping us enjoy the unique experience of visiting Silverton in the winter. For activities, we focused on backcountry nordic skiing in the great terrain around Silverton and Red Mountain Pass. Since avalanches are a serious concern in the area, if you want to go into the backcountry, you need to consult a local. Look up Michael Barton at Mountain Goat in Silverton for expert advice and professional service.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

A very pleasant place for vacation or business travel. The proprietors are very accommodating, knowledgeable, and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast's are well-prepared and healthy with omelet's to order (high-season), fruit, coffee, juice, and pastry's.

An enjoyable experience and a great base to explore the incredible San Juan Mountain's.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiricahua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The Teller House was a comfortable, clean and centrally located place to stay in Silverton. Everything is within walking distance, the staff is not only friendly but helpful with advice on local walks, the best places to eat, etc. My favorite part is the rooms. They're all different (the staff will give you a tour if they're unoccupied) and furnished with period antiques of the mining heyday. There are even artistic sketches on hidden walls that have been exposed when they restored the hotel, by people that stayed there over a hundred years ago! It's really quite charming. I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelglee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I stopped by mid-week on a business trip to Ignacio, Colorado,
and it was a pleasant, quiet, attractive place to stay. I love
Silverton - low-key, unassuming, good people - and this B and B
fits the town. I usually don't like B and Bs - the rooms seem too
fussy to me. But this one didn't suffer from that problem: nicely
decorated, but not over-decorated.
One downside for some people: A long set of stairs to the
rooms. Upside: The B and B sits over a pretty good restaurant,
whose name I forget. You barely have to go outside to get a
meal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exnewyorker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The building dates from the turn of the previous century and is kept in good repair. The rooms are pretty. What really makes staying at Teller House so nice is the manager, Rudy. Think "tall, dark and handsome" with a kind and professional attitude. The breakfast is great and the location is right in the center of town, an easy walk if you arrive by train. Many restaurants and bars are nearby (the later too nearby, if you ask me). The rooms are large. The bathrooms are kept clean, which is important as some rooms share a hall bath. My only complaint would be that more attention needs to be made concerning insect removal- I woke up with bites and my window was closed. I saw insects running into the wall in the bathroom ONCE. Perhaps Teller is not the best value for money in Silverton as the SHARED bath rooms now go for $99 plus tax. But the place is so beautiful and you can fall in love with it. I found the other guests to be charming, too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZarahL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My wife and two 9-year-olds agreed that Teller House is now our favorite accomodation in Silverton, where we occassionally go for a ski weekend. The room was large and comfortable and has a shared bathroom, which worked fine for us. There is a nice dining area that was most convenient when I woke up early and didn't want to disturb the others. The staff was excellent. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurangoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Our group stayed there. Some rooms have a private bath, but for the otehrs there are male and female bathrooms. It was like staying in an old, well-kept college dorm, and I am a little old for that. It has charm, but no privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
71 reviews
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
11.8 mi away
Ice House Suites & Condos
Ice House Suites & Condos
#7 of 11 in Telluride
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
969 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
405 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teller House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teller House

Address: 1250 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range: £68 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Teller House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teller House combines the tasteful Victorian aesthetics of the late 1800's with modern amenities, such as FREE WiFi, Cable TV in Hospitality/Meeting Room, Room Service from on-site restaurant. Our guests experience an alchemy of Victorian charm and gracious hospitality, with concierge services. We will provide you with a small refrigerator in your room, if needed. We also will carry your luggage/bags in and out for you. We are located in the heart of Silverton, within walking distance of restaurants, museums, and many Summer/Winter activities! Please review our amenities, and come stay with us at the historic Teller House Hotel in beautiful Silverton, Colorado! We are at your service..."Please make yourself at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Teller House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teller House Hotel Silverton
Teller Hotel Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing