We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Glitz Than Substance”
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Snowmass
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here during August jazz concerts. While the finishes throughout the hotel were exquisite, it was not particularly comfortable or welcoming. There were very few seats for guests to gather in the lobby area and we were checked in with a rather cool reception. Our room looked beautiful, but the sleeping area was cramped and had only a small table with two small chairs. The bathroom was huge, with a giant shower and a freestanding tub. It would have been much more comfortable if the tub space had been used for the bedroom area. The sink was too shallow for the cool, modern faucet so water splashed everywhere. The glass divider between the bathroom was interesting, but afforded little privacy unless the automatic curtain was lowered, then the sleeping area felt even smaller and the automatic mechanism was very loud. Apparently, the rooms differ greatly because we talked to another couple who described a very different configuration and who had more space than they could use. The pool area was lovely and the lounge chairs looked comfy, but the pool and the two hot tubs were too small for the size of the hotel. The jets in one of the hot tubs didn't work and need maintenance. We tried to have dessert in the restaurant one night and were told we could be served in the sofa area, but no server ever came, so we gave up. The following night we ate at the bar. The food was very good but overpriced. A woman next to me tried to order a drink, but felt slighted when the bartender couldn't get to her because what appeared to be more important people took up his time. Again, not particularly welcoming to everyone. It's a matter of preference, but we would rather stay in a place with more focus on hospitality than looks, hence only three stars. Many people were wowed with this hotel though. It's beautiful, modern and very hip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your recent visit with us. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction for our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Viceroy Snowmass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We came up here mid-week to escape for a few days and enjoy the mountains. The Viceroy had a great special running and was well-worth the visit. Upon arriving, we were greeted by the staff, checked in, given complimentary water bottles, invited to the happy hour, and shown a beautiful room on the sub-penthouse level. Though small, the room was luxurious, with a lovely bed, faux-fur quilt, great view of the landscape, mini kitchen, and amazing bathroom. The bathroom was about as large as our bedroom at home. We enjoyed the room and all its amenities.

The happy hour consisted of a scotch tasting and appetizers in the more formal restaurant. A shuttle ran to nearby areas if you wanted to explore and didn't have a car. We had a car, but found it easy to walk to Snowmass Village, or take the gondola. Also close to Aspen.

The pool was also incredible, with two hot tubs and private cabanas, which were perfect for getting out of the sun and ordering food and drinks. The waitstaff was attentive and helpful. So relaxing.

The fitness room, though in the basement and a little dark, had quite a few machines. We also participated in a complimentary yoga class, which was nice to have. Though I'm sure it gets quite expensive in the winter, the Viceroy is well worth the price and a true gem in the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. A north-facing room provides a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us this past August! I am delighted to hear about your experience while on property and how comfortable all the amenities at the Viceroy Snowmass made you feel. We look forward to more visits from you and your family in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our first time in the Snowmass/Aspen area. We were here for business and the conference was at Viceroy. The conference facilities were wonderful, the hotel is beautiful with lovely fireplace and an awesome bathroom. Beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was well stocked although we ate out. The hotel has great food, the conference food was wonderful and the breakfasts we had were lovely. There is fresh fruit, cereal, granola, hot stations - enough to fuel you up for a day of skiing. The ski facilities were great but somewhat slow when I had to extend my ski pass. The ski concierge could also be slow and one day couldn't find my skis for 30 minutes!! However the convenience of ski in and out resort on beautiful Snowmass could not be beat. Snowmass is a great hill for all levels and especially families.
The hotel provides hot chocolate and coffee in the afternoon as an apres ski.
They also have a shuttle service to the rest of Snowmass but it's so walkable, we didn't see the point.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Welcome to the Snowmass area, we are so pleased that your first experience out here was with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. Thank you for taking the time to write about your ski/business vacation with us this past winter season. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back for another season which is right around the corner.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Viceroy in Snowmass for our anniversary. I was amazed at the peaceful surroundings, very comfortable beds, Nespresso coffee makers, kind front desk and bellmen, good food and quiet rooms. When we arrived, there were a few guests in the room next to us having a great time celebrating. I was worried that they would keep us up but this hotel is built SO well, I could not hear one thing! The Viceroy makes me want to return to Snowmass for an extended stay but will bring our bikes next time!

Room Tip: Corner suite facing the mountain for best views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slcgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Happy anniversary! We are honored that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. We truly hope that we have the privilege of welcoming you back for many more celebrations in the coming future and we look forward to recommending many of the wonderful bike trails in the area for you to enjoy.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a wonderful property! The facilities are amazing, but the staff was even better. Nothing but friendly, waiting to assist you faces around every corner. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend to everyone. The spa was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We can’t wait to welcome you back for another stay at the Viceroy Snowmass! I am delighted to hear that our staff and beautifully appointed spa facility created life long memories for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wow is right. Everyone in the family loved this hotel. Great staff. We wanted to adopt the bellmen, concierge staff and cleaning personnel. Lovely suites, fantastic amenities, beautiful pool, great food, stunning location. What's not to like. The staff took care of our many bikes as if they were their own. First experience with such caring bike valets, and we will repeat it soon. We plan to return to Snowmass and the Viceroy, in particular. Lovely experience.

Room Tip: Just go! You'll love it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryder03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review of the Viceroy Snowmass in regards to your most recent stay with us! I am delighted to hear that our staff has made such a lasting impression on your family and that the property amenities created a relaxing atmosphere during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Be sure to check out our fall room and bike packages for your next visit.

Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was fortunate to spend a Christmas Holiday at The Viceroy Hotel, Snowmass. Not only was the Hotel Beautiful; but the entire Staff was attentive and gracious. The Ski Staff were quick, knowledgeable and attentive the entire 10 days. We had brand new gear to rent. The chairlift at the hotel was never crowded and the skiing was fantastic all over the mountain.
Now, the Hotel's Restaurant and Chef, Will Nolan, was fantastic. A wonderful mix of his Native New Orleans Food and modern Classics. Can't recommend 8 Restaurant enough. A definite treat each night after a full day of skiing. Don't miss out if you can book a trip here to The Viceroy at Snowmass.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the ski run.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass during this past Christmas. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us to accommodate your ski-in, ski-out needs and that our staff made your trip all the more memorable for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back for another ski trip where you can indulge in our latest menu offerings in EightK.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
817 reviews
6.8 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
6.8 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
6.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#6 of 35 in Aspen
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range: £189 - £723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing