We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Snowmass
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

From the minute I arrived I loved this place. The drive into the property is stunning and set the tone for my entire experience...luxurious, romantic, elegant, friendly. The room was fantastic and worth every penny! The service from Rochelle and Sonni in the spa was exceptional. The valet team was excellent! I especially loved the free shuttle around snowmass. Bravo!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gonzousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful time here in Snowmass during your stay at the Viceroy! I am very proud to hear that our spa and valet staff left such a lasting impression on your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Viceroy very soon.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    116
    58
    26
    18
See reviews for
239
283
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is very nice if you like contemporary, modern furnishings with a minimalist spin. It's in a great location. The shuttle to the village/mall area was a hit with our kids. We were warmly greeted upon check in, although our 2 bedroom wasn't ready yet. The kids were given a choice of free sunglasses which was cute. We all received a water bottle. I have to say the layout of the 2 bedroom was a little odd. One bathroom had a tub. One had a shower. We prefer a shower in each, so even though we had 2 bathrooms, one was used for the shower. We tried to use the tub, but the drain closure was broken & wouldn't seal, so that limited our options. Also, the lightbulb over our shower was out as well as 2 in the hallway by our door into the condo. So that was annoying. We liked the Nespresso maker, but we had to call several times for cream to be brought up since it wasn't stocked well. After calling for a refill, the front desk called to see if housekeeping came up & they still hadn't. We had to call again. Also we had the unfortunate experience of opening one that was "bad" which really didn't sit well. My husband & I didn't find the bed very comfortable or the pillows. They are down & our heads completely sunk down, offering no support for our necks. We both woke up with neck cricks & stiffness each morning. Usually there are a few pillow selections, firm, soft etc. at most luxury properties, so the fact that this wasn't available at the Viceroy was a real let down. The best feature at this hotel was the outdoor pool, although one hot tub wasn't getting "hot enough." The first day we couldn't use the pool though b/c a child had 'pooped' in the pool. So we made the best of it by sitting in the hot tubs. There are servers to bring you drinks & food from a good menu. Our 2nd day using the pool though the service was really lacking. I had to repeatedly ask for my kids' drinks again & again & they still forgot. The poor server was training someone & told us he also had to cook in the back b/c they were short staffed. Food took forever & then everyones food was delivered, except mine. Server completely forget to put my order in & once it was ready on the outdoor grill it sat there for 10 min. So my husband went up & got it himself since no server was around. The server was apologetic & took our drinks off the tab, but still this isn't what you expect at the Viceroy. We ate dinner at 8K & were disappointed again. The food was salty, my halibut was overcooked & the server waiting on us barely came around our table. We saw our water person more frequently. The dessert was terrible. It was suppose to be a warm brownie & instead was like eating a frozen piece of fudge. We couldn't even cut through it with a spoon or fork. Terrible. Maybe the summer staff is secondary to winter which is the peak season. We found the luxury & status that Viceroy should live up to severely lacking on this stay. It was especially noticeable & disappointing after we had such a fabulous stay at a real 5 star resort, The Broodmoor. Maybe the Viceroy could learn a thing or two from One Ski Hill too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megantoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your recent visit with us. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction for our guests. I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally to discuss our shortfalls and glean your perspective on our process improvement. If you would be so kind as to reach out me here at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in a one-bedroom with a den. It was nice and spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the pull-out beds were acceptable. Great interior finishes. Our only criticism is that the master bathtub/shower has a strange functionality…having to climb over about an 18" sidewall to get in, which felt a little precarious. Staff was wonderful, giving us rides up the mountain, storing our bikes, always smiling and friendly. The pool area is great, with food and beverage service and awesome lounge chairs and sitting areas. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We would be honored to have you back again! Thank you for your lovely review about your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that my staff made your stay feel that much more welcome while you were here at the Viceroy Snowmass.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is truly a 5 star property with a 5 star staff. The rooms have top of the line amenities and appliances. I had an issue prior to arrival and also after departure and the staff took care of everything professionally and without fuss. We also enjoyed an excellent meal and service at their restaurant 8K. We visited in the summer, but the ski in / ski out location is fantastic for a winter vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAFRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and all the property has to offer. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon, perhaps to check out our convenient ski-in, ski-out location.

Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at The Viceroy twice this summer with a third stay booked in the next two weeks. The hotel is beautiful and very well run. The one and two bedroom suites are top notch. The kitchens have top of the line appliances. The living space is roomy and the bedrooms and bathrooms are fabulous. Have had tons of closet space. The hotel spa is wonderful. The hotel is quiet, great service, good food and a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Overlooking Snowmass valley and high up away from pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle, don't change linens daily, LEED certified, energy efficient appliances.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
It speaks volumes to hear that you have returned many times in one season and we are so privileged to welcome you back for another stay here at the Viceroy Snowmass. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our well appointed room amenities, layout, location and service. It brings me great pride to know we have such a loyal customer.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

beautiful hotel, courteous helpful staff. the kitchen had nice size refrigerator,(small grocery store right across the street from the airport in aspen) dishwasher and small laundry unit which was very helpful in keeping our active wear clean! the restaurants were in walking distance. a little pricey but well worth the cost. Ricards and venga venga delicious! we also shopped at the stores, many having sales on winter clothing so we got some good buys on north face and pantagonia items. the hiking trails nearby offer some breathtaking scenery. If you like biking, hiking and white water rafting i would suggest this destination!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I am so pleased to hear you joined us this summer at the Viceroy Snowmass for what sounds like an action packed stay! The summer activities in the area are very hard to beat! Thank you for your comments about our well appointed rooms and courteous staff. It always brings me great pride to hear that our staff made lasting impressions on our guests.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at the Viceroy over the 4th of July while attending the Wanderlust yoga festival. The room was much larger than expected and very nicely appointed. The kitchen, while small, had outstanding appliances. The staff is courteous and attentive without feeling too patronizing. Valet service was always speedy and the house car to shuttle us back and forth to the local events was very helpful. I can't imagine a better location, summer or winter, to stay in order to fully enjoy Snowmass/Aspen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spa_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you were able to join us for Wanderlust, what a terrific event for the town of Snowmass Village to host! We hope to welcome you back very soon, summer or winter!

Regards,

Hugh Templeman
Regional Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
6.8 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Property: Viceroy Snowmass
Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing