We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & bazaar menu”
Review of Eight K Restaurant

Eight K Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brushcreek Rd
Description: Eight K features High Mountain Cuisine with southern roots, in a sophisticated mountain setting. Acclaimed Executive Chef Will Nolan creates innovative comfort food at Eight K using fresh, locally-sourced and organic ingredients whenever possible. Around the restaurant fireplace, throughout the dining room, or in the private dining space, lively groups and romantic couples enjoy seasonal menus and classic mountain warmth at the Viceroy Snowmass Eight K Restaurant. Offering fine dining options for breakfast and dinner, the restaurant features a glimmering display kitchen at its center and a stunning 87-foot glass bar. Complimentary valet parking is available when you dine at Viceroy Snowmass.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Overpriced & bazaar menu”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you like Southern cooking with a twist, you might like the food. But we found it hard to just find some decent, good choices without being ruined by some bazaar accompaniment that didn't make sense flavor wise. My halibut was overcooked & salty, so the mustard sauce on the sour tasting grits was just overkill of salt flavor. Kids like the deviled egg taster. My daughter's steak was overcooked. She didn't like her runny mashed potatoes. Server was barely to our table. The desserts were terrible. The brownie was more like a frozen piece of fudge. We couldn't cut it to take a bite it was so hard. Gross! Definitely skip this restaurant. There many better choices around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank megantoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    58
    27
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pricey and OK”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This reccomendation came from the folks at the Westin Snowmass. We went here for our 10th anniversary dinner. When we asked about the menu we were told "YES" they have steaks. We arrived at our reservation time and there was really nobody in the restaurant. We were sat next to a couple woman who were eating which was awkward - because there was really nobody else around and we were pretty close to them and basically listened to their entire conversation while we ate dinner. For an appetizer - we had the Elk Hand Pie. It was very small, enough for us each to have 2 bites - but it was really good. For dinner - my husband had the 16oz Prime Ribeye. It was good, a bit fatty. The bone marrow with it was fantastic. I had two appetizers for dinner. I had Pete's Angry Mussels - there were pretty good and then I had Seared Scallop and Fried Green tomato. Also good. The mussels were a pretty decent size however the Scallop - not plural - was literally a single large scallop. For the prices at this restaurant, the food was just ok. Probably wouldn't return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MtnGirlKLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappointed ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful restaurant. All of the food choices that I have had over more than five visits have been delicious. Particularly like to eat in their little library/den room. It's very quiet, comfortable and cozy with a fireplace. It's a bit pricey, but as I said, it's a beautiful restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The menu and atmosphere are exceptional, especially considering it's in the middle of the Colorado mountains.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tinstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ambiance is great”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

While staying at this hotel, we walked past the beautiful restaurant every time we went anywhere else. We hadn't brought elegant clothing for this trip, so didn't feel compelled to walk in and sit in the luxe surroundings. Glad we changed our mind for our last night. The restaurant is very warm and inviting; the staff gracious, although tardy with getting our food served before it became luke-warm. The ambiance of the room, and the lighting made us feel mellow, welcome, and at peace.
What a beautiful way to end a lovely visit. This is truly an awesome locale.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eight K Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Eight K Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing