We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and interesting”

Anderson Ranch Arts Center
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely and interesting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place was well worth the stop. It happened to be an open studio day when we stopped by. The place has a great vibe and if you're at all interested in any kind of art (photography, sculpture, pottery, wood turning, textiles, etc) it's well worth visiting. The artists and students were all super friendly and eager to talk about what they were doing. The setting is great, the buildings interesting in and of themselves. Nice gift shop for browsing. Great place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LDJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Camp Experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The week our 7-year old spent at Anderson Ranch was very memorable. The hands-on opportunity is beyond compare. It is a favorite activity of our Summer vacation. We'll be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting and incredible support for artists!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was lucky enough to attend a week-long workshop on photography taught by Bill Ellzey in June at Anderson Ranch. The Ranch is a most wonderful and beautiful place, with supportive staff and highly skilled instructors to help you reach your art goals. It is a multidisciplinary center that has specialized facilities for many art disciplines, and tremendous programs to help you learn and stretch your art. The ability to be in the mountains surrounded by beauty and feeling the buzz and the collaboration of other creative people is unmatched by anywhere else I have been. This was one of the best experiences I have had, and The Ranch does everything to make it so. It's an extraordinary and wonderful experience - GO! you'll be rewarded with an experience you will remember and want to repeat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Photography at Anderson Ranch”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I just completed a fantastic week long lighting workshop at the Anderson Ranch! Led by Allen Birnbach from Denver, CO, this was a detailed step-wise introduction to adding strobe flash to your portrait or environmental photographs. From a single bare flash to multiple flashes utilizing soft boxes, shoots, grids, gels, etc. there was ample time to "try it all". Daily reviews were held in the morning.

Allen's teaching style is calm and collected. No question was considered too mundane to answer. As a result, all members of the class, which had widely different experience levels, gained the ability utilize these techniques.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Creative Oasis in the Mountains”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I recently partook in the programming at the Anderson Ranch Arts Center, in Snowmass Village CO, and I was so amazed at the experience of this creative getaway. The ranch is composed of varying studio facilities that house artists studios in a variety of disciplines: painting, printmaking, ceramics, wood working, digital media, and sculpture. For a portion of the year (while I was there working) the ranch is home to working artists who are given access to space and time to create their work. At other times of the year, primarily in summer, the ranch is a bustling hive of short term workshops and classes taught by artists hailing from all over the world. It is an amazing destination to visit even if just by curiosity, as it is such a curious departure from the resort atmosphere of the Snowmass Village / Aspen surroundings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderson Ranch Arts Center also viewed

 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Anderson Ranch Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing