We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the hiking here”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
608 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Love the hiking here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is very nice to know that you don't have to go all the way into Aspen to get some great hiking. There is great trails right at the village and base!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rim trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The rim Trail is a 8 mile or so trail down to a lake in the valley. It is a moderate trail. The views are spectacular as you're walking along the rim of the mountains overlooking Snowmass Valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neurodoc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ditch Trail is a great summer hike or run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you're there in the summer, this is a great trail to hike or jog. I combined it with the Nature Trail that begins at Snowmass Mall. If you want a complete description, map and pictures of which turns to take, take a look at this posting that I put online: http://www.joggingroutes.org/2013/06/snowmass-ditch-trail-running-route.html

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not clearly marked.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We attempted to hike the Ditch trail with our teenage kids and started out at the trailhead near the parking lot. Once we hit the intersection of the ski hill, there were no signs or markings on where to go. We ended up taking a treacherous, icy climb down the hill, and followed an obvious path (most likely the dog sledding route) for about a half an hour. It was a beautiful hike, but I'm pretty sure we did not hike the actual "ditch trail" because we could not find it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy0ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
274 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great for hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I've been to all summits and have never repeated one trail. I choose according to my motivation for harder of mellow walk (always in winter).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snowmass Village Hiking Trails also viewed

 

Been to Snowmass Village Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing