We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch on top of Snowmass”
Review of Elk Camp Cafe

Elk Camp Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
400 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch on top of Snowmass”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

During the ski season I am sure that the Elk Camp Restaurant is packed. When we recently had lunch on a very pleasant summer day we had the place nearly to ourselves. The atmosphere was beautiful and so nice to eat outside in the sunshine.

The staff of this restaurant is very impressive, friendly and helpful. There is so much selection from gourmet pizzas, to french baguette sandwiches to their extensive salad bar. The salad bar was actually incredible. While I enjoyed my sandwich along with a smaller salad, should I repeat that meal, I would concentrate on the salad bar alone.

Excellent selection of wines to complement our meal, as well as the background music. We rocked with music from the 70s! It was a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onmountaindining, Marketing Manager at Elk Camp Cafe, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Elk Camp and hope that you join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Soooo disappointed.”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had always had lunch at Cafe Suzanne which has been replaced by this very inconvenient snazzy new chalet. It is not designed well and was so crowded we had to leave or you risk getting something spilled. There is nowhere to put helmets, gloves etc., no room to get through and all the chairs in the middle are wasted since there is no room to sit in the middle. It is not a ski-in - it is just made convenient for the gondola users and for apres-ski I suppose - basically a monetary decision - not a convenience for skiers. Not to mention horribly expensive. We made sure after our experience there, that we skied near the Ullhorf chalet, which so far is still a very comfortable place - hope they don't change it. We will not be eating lunch at the Elk Camp cafe again, or getting a coffee there. Not worth the hassle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discriminatingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, too crowded”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

The seating here is ridiculously close. It's very difficult to get into your table. The food is good. Go there after 1:30 to avoid the lunch crush. Try the margarita pizza made by the friendly bakers, and note the varieties of champagne in the cooler.

Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The new Elk Camp resturant”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

It is a nice building, the food presentation is very clean and modern.
I had the beef stew/chili, it spoke to me all afternoon. The Salad is by the pound, very nice salad bar, rotisserie chicken, pizza, sandwiches filled out the offerings.
Nicer building, restrooms both levels (sweet) the food isn't much better but the building is.
11:30 if you want a place to sit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lunch on the mountain”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

the good news is that the food is really great. the bad news is that they have kinks to work out (new restaurant). the lines to get food do not flow well. and it is a mad rush to get a table and then you find yourself hovering over other people as they finish their food. we did it to others, and others did it to us. no other way to get a table as it was so packed last week. we were there over the big east coast school break, so i have no idea what it is like during a regular week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elk Camp Cafe also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Elk Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing