We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steaks - not to be missed.”

Little Mammoth Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks - not to be missed.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Little Mammoth is a little uninspiring when you walk in, but as it was full and we couldn’t get a table when we first tried, we thought we would book for the following day and give it a try. Best decision we made all week. The Filet Mignon is exceptional – cooked to perfection and beautifully tender. Fries and mash are both excellent too! One of us was mad enough not to order a steak, but I’m told that the salmon was also outstanding.

Whilst it is not the cheapest meal in town, the quality of the food makes it very good value. No visit to Snowmass will be complete without a steak at the Little Mammoth. It was good enough to repeat the whole experience again the following day! Self-control was needed to prevent a third visit…

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sicarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    5
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Order the Steak 'Tips'!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

If you are lucky enough to happen upon this place when they have availability of their specialty steak 'tips' you must order! They serve it on a salt block - It is absolutely delicious. Additionally,
it always pleases me to see a friends & family run business. Nice people.

Helpful?
1 Thank bjm360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great steaks”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Perfect steaks in a cozy atmosphere. Nice wine list. Attentive and friendly servers. Filet and ribeye caps were delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gville_gal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess/ No Bar Service”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We never actually ate here so my review is not based on the food. We were there last night (12/29/13) and our concierge had messed up our reservation by 1/2 hour and even though we were 10 minutes early the hostess said she already took us off the books and wouldn't be able to seat us for 40 minutes. The hostess was very rude and not friendly at all. We noticed that the family that walked in before us received the same kind of treatment. Their table wasn't ready and she weirdly demanded that they go sit and the bar. They were a younger family and looked annoyed that they were hustled over there. There weren't any other customers waiting so it's not like they were overly busy. Even when we showed her our itinerary showing the reservation time she waved it away and said it didn't matter. Disappointing and I don't think that hostess should be working as a hostess! Even with some of the good reviews of the food, we won't set foot in this place again. I should also note that we decided to try and sit at the bar and possibly eat at the bar (since by that point there weren't any others sitting there), but after 10 -15 minutes of not so much as a glance from the bartender we gave up and left.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had the scallop 4 to be exact which were OK. My wife had the beef goulash that was said took 2 days of marination and result was just fair. Our other friends had the filet mignon and the pork snitzel and they were nothing OK too. OK food but the pricey dishes at over $32 per order with no sides to show may just be too pricey but this being Snowmass Village is to be expected.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Mammoth Steakhouse also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Little Mammoth Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing