We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on high”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
High Alpine Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
616 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Heaven on high”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

High Alpine has a cafeteria and a sit down restaurant, Gwyn's. For years I ate lunch at Gwyn's, which has fabulous food. The soups are the best I have ever had. I don't eat there now, since my hotel serves lunch as part of the price for a room. Also Gwyn's has become very expensive.

The cafeteria is good but also expensive. The quality of the food there is a cut above typical food in ski lodges on the mountain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heads up cashier, slacker grill staff...”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The food is very good at Gwyn's and it holds a throwback appeal in contrast to the chic new Elk Camp restaurant. While the grill staff can be a bit lackadaisical (grill orders are called out over a microphone when you first enter the line, but often times they don't make it to the grill, then you wait a few minutes quietly because you don't want to be that rude jerk that expects their food when they order it only to find after a few minutes one of the grill staff decides to ask you what you are waiting for and then proceed to throw it on the grill with out even one word like "I'm sorry sir, we missed your order but we will get it done pronto." Thankfully a heads up cashier realized the problem and brought the item which I decided to forgo, to my table, gratis! That is customer service.

I did go back and pay for the item after I finished lunch because I wasn't looking for a free sandwich, just for a sandwich when I ordered it.

Bottom line Gwyn's still rocks great hearty and health on mountain fare at a bargain compared to Elk Camp.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank circanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Stew!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

For $16 you can get a great bowl of Chicken Stew. A pricey menu; this mountain restaurant also offers a more expensive sit down service in their restaurant Gwen's High Alpine. The food is delicious and worth a stop for a late afternoon lunch with wine before you ski home. The bar downstairs is casual and fun and the deck outside offers loads of room for having a burger on a sunny day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMBHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gwynn's never disappointed me”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

On the contrary i found the selection of food quite varied & interesting and always tasty. A real delightful place to take a break or finish off the afternoon. Kudos to the staff who are friendly & accomodating!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and great food”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Loved the old style feel and the home made food. Location on the mountain was great. We will go back to Gwyn's High Alpine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathyerikkristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Alpine Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to High Alpine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing