We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Stay (with one small missing piece)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Timberline Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Stay (with one small missing piece)”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent 5 enjoyable nights in a 1BR + Loft (1 1/2 BA) condo at The Timberline and if we return to Snowmass, this will likely be our first choice for lodging again. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the on-call shuttle service was prompt and responsive.

The only issue that we have relates to a lack of hot water on the final night of our stay. The water heater stopped working the afternoon prior to our departure, leaving us unable to shower after a day of skiing. The maintenance man was very nice and returned several times to try different things, but nothing worked. While I didn't make a request for any compensation for the lack of hot water I expected management to maybe offer to reduce our rate for the night without hot water but they didn't. What they offered instead was to let us use a shower in another condo unit, but that unit was in another building that would have required us to walk outside to get back and forth. A nice gesture I guess, but I think if I were running the place I would have offered to reduce the rate for that final night by 10-20%. (When I've stayed at hotel properties and they can't deliver a basic necessity like hot water, I've always had them offer a rate reduction.)

Despite the hot water issue, we will use The Timberline again if we visit Snowmass and would recommend it to other travelers as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready4MoreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    43
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
87
41
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Apartment is a bit dated but comfortable and the location is brilliant being true ski in ski out. It is worth staying on this side of the ski slope as it is a short walk down down to the Mall where most shops are and the shuttle bus to Aspen leaves from. Steep walk home but Timberline are more than happy to send a driver to pick you up. The only downside was there was no washing machine in the apartment but the common laundry facilities are very good. The Edge restaurant on the premises is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

What you pay for purely is location. The condo unit is 40 years old & very dated. The bathrooms were tiny. We were unable to adjust temperature & it was stifling hit. Very uncomfortable! We were told to crack the window & not use fireplace. For $1300/night, that is unacceptable. The maintenance person said he would talk to the manager a& perhaps we'll get a bottle of wine or meal comp, none of which occurred, not even a follow up call. There was zero customer service. You would get a different answer anytime you called front desk on renting skis, we were told prior to arrival they would be delivered to unit, incorrect. Also called ahead to ask manager to make dinner reservation, which never happened. There was little information given prior to stay & check in. The only nice thing was a complimentary car service anywhere in Snowmass. We will never stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We were in snowmass for four nights and stayed at the Timberline all four. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. You can park close to your unit and get somebody to help with your luggage. The only problem was in both of the units that we have stayed at, some appliance was ringing, beeping. Or buzzing when in use. The stairs are a pain with skis and luggage. It is nice being right on the mountain. The only other problem was we got it 20% off because of last minute booking and it was still $750 a night. My wallet is a lot skinnier now.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our condo was in a great location, which was right on the slope. The pull-out bed was very comfortable, and we had a really nice balcony. My only issue was that the condo was a little warm, but it cooled down after we left the sliding glass door open. The hot tub was great and there was free hot chocolate in the lobby!

Room Tip: Get a condo close to the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberlineCondos, Manager at The Timberline Condominiums, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for staying at the Timberline and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the condo feeling a bit warm, we usually turn the heaters up for our arriving guest and sometimes it does get too hot. I am glad that by opening the sliding door the problem was fixed.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Timberline, we hope that you and your family return in the near future!
Happy Skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have not stayed at Timberline for a few years, but our family recently stayed there in the spring
(skiing)..They stayed with us as well..The units have been updated and it's truly ski in ski out..We both stayed in a two brm. unit in the first floor, the first unit closest to the mountain..the unit was very well done and the convince of skiing in and out was fantastic..You could ski into the living room if you wanted to..(my youngest son did)
Stay there if you have the chance...

Room Tip: Stay as close to the Mountain as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberlineCondos, Manager at The Timberline Condominiums, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Robert T.,

Thank you for returning to the Timberline and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comments on our recent updates since we are working hard on keeping our units up to date while maintaining a true Colorado hospitality and experience. We are glad your family had a good time. We are a great ski-in/out property however, we do not recommend all guest to ski into the living room! :) thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place is great. We got it on a "deal site" for a fall retreat and we were very pleased with the accommodations. It was a nice size studio with a small kitchen and nicely renovated bathroom. The Edge was closed while we were there, as it was mud season, but we had a lovely weekend nonetheless. We travel to Snowmass pretty frequently, so I'd definitely add this to my list of places to stay in the area.

The only SLIGHT downfall to this place, which does not affect my review of it at all (more as a heads up to travelers)... The Timberline Condos are above the Snowmass Village Mall. It's a short walk down, but what goes down, must go back up, haha! It's ski-in ski-out, though, so for winter travelers it's really not a big deal. I was there in the fall and it really is a short walk, but a steep short walk. I'm not sure if they have shuttles that take you back and forth to the mall for travelers who would prefer to not walk it, but just thought I'd mention it here. With the Aspens changing though - it was lovely. I'm just thinking of my mom, who would not enjoy the slight walk back up!

That being said - overall, really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back! Thanks Timberline!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.2 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
217 reviews
7.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Timberline Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Timberline Condominiums

Property: The Timberline Condominiums
Address: 690 Carriage Way, across from parking lot 13, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Timberline Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timberline Condominiums offer a collection of ski-in/ski-out vacation rental properties in Snowmass Village CO. Located on the slopes of Snowmass Mountain, guests enjoy the spacious comfort of a private residence with many services of a fine hotel. Services include complimentary Aspen airport shuttle, complimentary wireless internet, housekeeping and more! Enjoy the new slope side pool and hot tubs. Visit the new Fitness Center and steam room. Located on Snowmass Mountain and a short walk from the Snowmass Village Mall with shopping, restaurants and more. Snowmass Mountain offers over 3,000 acres of skiing, plus Aspen (just 9 miles), Aspen Highlands and Buttermilk (approx. 7 miles) are accessible from the free bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Timberline Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Timberline Condominiums Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing