We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place, nice staff, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurelwood Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laurelwood Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool place, nice staff, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you want to stay away from Aspen-expensive, you'll end up in Snowmass. This place was very convenient and relatively cheap. The staff were great. The condo was clean and spacious. There is ample parking across the street and a free bus into Aspen (only Spring and Summer it seems).

So we parked. Checked in. Took a shower. Took the bus to town. Walked around Aspen. Had dinner. Bought some groceries. And took the bus back to this place. Easy peasy.

Very happy with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    56
    10
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
84
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just got back from a week long vacation in CO. Stayed two nights here and enjoyed it! My boyfriend and I had lots of plans from hiking and water rafting and the location was perfect! We arrived after hours and the Laurelwood staff gave us great details on how to get our room and key when the office was closed so we had no problem! Only draw back was that since it was off season many of the shops in the little town of snow mass were closed. Other than that it was a wonderful place! Clean and kept up very well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were terribly disappointed with our stay at Laurelwood Studios.

Booking a room for 3 adults we were surprised at how cramped the studio was, leaving virtually no room to walk around ski gear and luggage. Aesthetically, the "1970s rec room" décor of unit #107 (including a plastic accordion style room partition) was painfully dated and cheap. It looked absolutely nothing like the professional marketing photos of Laurelwood studios posted on Expedia.

After asking to speak to the manager about other room options, we were told she was off til the morning and would have to email her with our concerns. We did and she never responded.

The management was also seriously lacking in service skills in person. Upon check-in, guests are served paperwork to sign detailing all sorts of ways you can incur fines if you behave inappropriately. It sets a very adversarial tone and you end up feeling like a college student on Spring Break.

Even when we tried to make light of this by saying we weren’t that sort of guest, the desk staff persisted with this “we expect you to make trouble” line of thinking by saying “Well, you haven’t been to the hot tub yet!” Sheesh. For the record we’re a well dressed, polite, forty-something couple who do not look like hard partying snowboarders.

As a guest you will continually feel nickel and dimed. Each unit has a fireplace but you must buy wood in order to use it. Why isn’t this noted on any website? The Laurelwood ski racks right off the slopes are convenient, but again you have to “rent” a lock in order to secure your gear there. To avoid fees, most guests schlep their gear back to their rooms, which is a really stupid state of affairs.

Other things that caused us frustration:

1. Recessed lighting at the bath vanity, making it tough to see when inserting contact lenses or applying makeup. Terrible design choice.
2. The tiny hairdryer would overheat and shut off after less than 30 seconds. It was only usable on the lowest setting, which was so underpowered it took 3x as long to get the job done. Asking for another hairdryer we received an identical one with the same problem—only on the second try did we get a different model that worked for 5 minutes at a time. Given that a workable hairdryer costs just $15, this is ridiculous.
3. Maids use a cheap, highly perfumed cleaning product that left an overpowering odor that both my husband and I were sensitive to. The front desk guy brought over an oxygenator for an hour that helped alleviate the smell somewhat—but we still had to open the windows (in 20 degree temps) to dissipate the foul odor. We left notes in English as well as Spanish requesting that it not be used again, but sure enough it was used again the next day. Only after we spoke to the maid in person (in Spanish) did she stop using it.
4. Inadequate maid service. We were consistently short of clean towels and shampoo, requiring calls to the front desk to remedy.
5. Fireplace smoke from other units will permeate your room. On our last night, our downstairs neighbor made a fire around 10 PM, and the smoke that traveled up the flue and into our room. The smoke became so intense it was impossible to sleep. Again, we opened the windows having no other alternative!

One other thing to note is that you’re staying at nearly 9,000 ft-- and getting to Laurelwood requires a steep uphill trek of about 5 blocks from Snowmass mall if you are taking the shuttle bus or aren't fortunate enough to find parking across the street. This didn’t bother us -- but if you are not in great shape it will be an issue at this altitude, especially if you’re wearing ski boots and hauling equipment.

To sum up, this place doesn’t seem to be trying on service, facilities or amenities. If you book here, recognize that each unit is individually owned and the condition/décor is wildly inconsistent. There is no correlation between condition and price. What you get is basically a roll of the dice. We rolled and lost.

For our money, the value was poor—even by Aspen standards. Any guest desiring more than a bare bones accommodation should opt for an established brand—with more accountability and consistency. On our next trip we’ll definitely book elsewhere…

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our condo was perfect for our long weekend stay in Snowmass - for my husband, myself and two kiddos. The location was ideal and we could ski/out and also walk to mall very easily. The room was clean and had up-to-date appliances and furnishing. We will definitely stay there again - what a great value!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shgardnercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We planned this trip through a group company and we very pleased! It's a little hard to find at night going up the hill, but we were greeted and the front desk person was very helpful. Our condo overlooked the slope that skiied down to the village express lift. It may be hard to figure it out from maps, but it truly is ski in-ski out! There's an option to lock your skiis up or take them to your balcony. The condo was great for 4 people who spent the majority of the time on the slopes, in the hot tub or asleep. We would absolutely stay here again. There are two hot tubs and we basically had them to ourselves despite going over new years (crazy huh?!) STAY HERE!! If you're looking for a true ski vacation you can't beat it. Snowmass is where you want to be (not Aspen). LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Ask for one with mountain view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. It was clean, fresh and had modern appliances. It was very convenient to the slope. We did more cooking in than in other places because it was so comfortable. We highly recommend the Laurelwood. They need to upgrade the pillows...

Room Tip: Premier is the nicest and most up to date. We had granite counters in the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've been staying at the Laurelwood 3 times a year for four years and can't imagine staying anywhere else. Very easy access to wherever you want to go and I love the full kitchen. It's peaceful, relaxing and has every modern amenity you'd want. The staff is amazing and makes me feel like family.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in a room I didn't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meril N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Snowmass
Viceroy Snowmass
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Studios

Property: Laurelwood Studios
Address: 640 Upper Carriage Way, PO Box 5600, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurelwood Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LAURELWOOD offers spacious, recently updated ski-in/ski-out condominium suites. Each individually owned and decorated suite has a private balcony or patio with an electric barbeque grill, wood-burning fireplace and full kitchen. The 540-square-foot studios accommodate up to four people comfortably. For privacy, a floor-to-ceiling partition wall can be pulled to enclose the bedroom, which features a queen-sized bed. Two doors to the bathroom - one from the bedroom, one from the living space enable greater privacy and convenience. Each studio also includes a queen sleeper sofa. Enjoy the convenience of free wireless internet, free worldwide calling and satellite television with multiple HBO channels. At the end of the day relax in our spectacular two-tier stone hot tubs. Available in premier or deluxe room types, our condominium suites are based on interior decor, regardless of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laurelwood Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Studios Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing