We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drab and Dirty- Not Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drab and Dirty- Not Recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I should have known from the second I walked in and saw the drab, khaki colored employee "uniforms" that the entire place would be drab and tired. The room was scantily furnished in all browns, old and tired decor (if you can call it "decor"; rather a gathering of old and random furnishings), brown walls, brown everything, paper thin walls, little ventilation, and no closet. Beyond that the worst was finding someone else's dirty clothes on the floor and NO HOT WATER! So when we checked out and I mentioned the water and dirty clothes I got "Sorry". That's it?!?! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AinVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass_Hospitality, General Manager at Snowmass Mountain Chalet, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review for your recent stay at Snowmass Mountain Chalet. Many of our guests come to stay at the Chalet as it provides a feeling of home, with a very friendly staff and very clean rooms, and we're truly sorry that you had issues with clothing from a previous stay and a lack of hot water. Suffice it to say that we do everything in our power to avoid any issues, and had you brought them to our attention the minute you discovered them, they would have been addressed ASAP. The next time you're planning on coming to Snowmass, we sincerely hope that you'll give us the chance to make your stay exactly as you envision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    61
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
42
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Worst place I've stayed in!!! We were there for 1 night on business. We travel almost every week and have stayed in countless hotels. This was by far...THE WORST!!! They say no pets but when we got to our room...black dog hair ALL over the blanket! Like the dog rolled around on our bed!!! There was even dog hair on the pillows and sheets. I grabbed the extra pillows and blanket from the closet....MORE DOG HAIR!!! The next morning as we were leaving....a man came out from behind the counter with a good sized black dog. The only thing nice about this place was the staff. We will be traveling back to Aspen frequently for work. But won't EVER stay here again!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 2IdahoWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass_Hospitality, Manager at Snowmass Mountain Chalet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for your review, as we take all comments very seriously. This room obviously had a pet in it from a previous stay, which is against hotel policy. We can't always catch it, but you're absolutely right - our housekeeping staff should have made note and thoroughly cleaned the room. We did review with housekeeping, and we're striving towards better attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Truly a Colorado atmosphere. Great people and comfortable accommodations. It was great being so close to the conference center and to restaurants. Accessibility to hiking trails was good and the knowledgable staff let me know the best places to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

As previously stated, the building is a bit tired, but the atmosphere is very homely and the staff more than make up for the building. All the staff do their bit, which promotes a great stay. I love the complementary food and drink to bring the visitors together, what a brilliant idea. Nothing is too much for anyone, I would strongly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzerg307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The entire staff -- from GM to front desk to dining room to housekeeping to maintenance to drivers -- is most friendly, helpful, and professional. Taken together, they created an "at home" atmosphere and a feeling that one is more than just a guest, i.e., that you're part of the family. This in itself sets off the Mountain Chalet from other properties in Snowmass Village and may explain in part why so many people return to the Chalet year after year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

While the hotel is a bit tired, this is more than made up by the staff. Breakfast and a hot soup lunch are more than adequate. The ski in/ski out location is great. The pool, fitness center, sauna are joys.

Good common room to read, play games by the fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
604 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Mountain Chalet at Snowmass is good place to stay. I walk about 50 yards from my room, out the door, and put on my skis before heading down to the main lift at Base Village. Situated a block below the Snowmass Mall, the hotel is close to everything. Lunch and a full breakfast come with each room, and the price is reasonable.The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is a shuttle bus to take guests to and from the airport. THe decor is old and tired, but the hotel is comfortable. It is a great value, particularly when a bowl of mediocre soup on the mountain is $8.00.

Room Tip: Stay on the lobby floor for easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowmass Mountain Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowmass Mountain Chalet

Property: Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Address: 115 Daly Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowmass Mountain Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snowmass Mountain Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowmass Mountain Chalet Hotel Snowmass Village
Snowmass Village Mountain Chalet
Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing