We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Nearby Hotels
Viceroy Snowmass(Snowmass Village)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin Snowmass Resort(Snowmass Village)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel(Snowmass Village)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pokolodi Lodge(Snowmass Village)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wildwood Snowmass(Snowmass Village)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Crestwood Condominiums(Snowmass Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
74
65
25
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
65
25
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot soupsnowmass mountainfree breakfastlunch includednice grassy areagathering roomhotel pricehot tubrooms are largeslope sidewithin walking distance of the hotelperfect mountaindirect accessfree shuttlequick walkski storageworked great
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The rooms were clean but they are very dated. If you like a FIRM mattress you will be happy with the beds. The living area space was definitely not designed for King beds and I had about a foot between me and the wall on my side of the bed. The separate area for the toilet is very small and when in a sitting position your shoulder hits the toilet paper holder.

Did not care for the fact that we had to park our SUV two blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoroughbredlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to book on this place for our summer getaway. The location was great. Close to everything in Snowmass. The staff were very friendly. However, for relaxation and romance it was ok. The beds weren't super comfy and didn't have great ambiance. We heard kids running in the hallways and a baby crying throughout the night. The warm breakfast was great in the morning. If you're going for a family type vacation, this is your place. The rooms were spacious.
If you're looking for a comfy romantic, rustic place, you should maybe consider another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonaVSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This was a great location, nice unpretentious hotel, for a great price. The breakfast was great and we loved being able to walk everywhere--good access to the gondola, and mountain, and snowmass village shops. Not luxurious--but good sized rooms, friendly service, and a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Arguably the best location in Snowmass. If your first priority when visiting a ski resort is to ski, and you care more about great access to the mountain than about superfluous luxuries and cloying overservice, then this is the hotel for you.

This is true ski-in, ski-out at a mountain that has something for everyone, from endless miles of cruisy groomers to real alpine adventure, whether lift serviced in the Cirque or a short hike to Hanging Valley. And there's a lot more of all of the above in the other Aspen mountains and the backcountry nearby. But Snowmass is the place to stay if you're here to ski. It's really easy to hop a free bus into Aspen at night to eat and drink.

We stayed here for 12 nights in Feb, skied Snowmass more than half of those days and Aspen Mountain and Highlands the others. Went into Aspen for dinner about five or six times. So easy to get around. We would love to have stayed another 12 nights. To paraphrase Dr Johnson, anybody who tires of Aspen Snowmass is tired of [the good] life, or simply doesn't enjoy skiing and dining as much as our family.

The Mountain Chalet is not exactly the prettiest building on the mountain, but when you're staying there you hardly care, you're not looking at the hotel, you're looking out over the slopeside pool to the rest of the beautiful village. And although nothing about this place is pretentious or upscale, it has all the amenities you could ask for: from the pool to the exercise room to wireless internet to cheap laundry, all really well maintained in the right kind of no-nonsense spirit.

It seems to attract a friendly, unpretentious crowd from all over the country and beyond. There are plenty of kids and families and conversations in the pool at the end of each day. Share tables at breakfast also keep it convivial. The breakfast, like the hotel, is more functional than fancy, but it's good pre-ski fuel nonetheless. We never came back down the mountain for the soup lunch, but the option is there for the less adventurous or to save a few bucks.

The room decor is motel-esque, but very comfortable and perfectly adequate for people who don't plan to spend a lot of time looking around their rooms. And I've stayed in plenty of far more expensive hotels in Snowmass and other ski resorts that didn't have such a great outlook from the rooms. The common room near the entrance is better furnished and very cozy and 'lodge-y', with a big fireplace and great views over the home hill. The Snowmass Mall (lots of relatively cheap and cheerful food options, and ski shops and services) is right next door to the hotel, and the station for the little skittle gondolas down to the new base village (kids ski school and other bars and restaurants) runs from early to late outside the hotel as well.

I wish every great ski resort had a no frills yet no compromise accommodation option like the Snowmass Mountain Chalet. Rumour is the Chalet won't survive the continued yuppification of Snowmass over the next few years, but they're still taking bookings up to mid 2010, so hurry to have an affordable Snowmass vacation while you still can.

We are definitely booking a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Just came home from staying here for 4 nights. The hotel is placed perfectly on the mountain with true ski in / ski out. We had rooms 102 and 104 which are on the 1st floor with the pool just a few steps away.
The breakfast and lunch were a bonus on the trip and saved us all sorts of money as everything is overpriced (even if it is good).

The staff was courteous and helpful.

The only thing that I didn't like was the air was 'dry' even with the humidifier running for a few days. This might be a problem with other resorts as you are up about 8,000 ft

I can't wait to come back here again

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mtebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews