We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fine, but could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pokolodi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pokolodi Lodge
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just fine, but could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the Pokolodi this past weekend and had a nice enough time. We arrived early and were happy to be accomodated prior to check in time. The staff was helpful and was able to give us clear directions and offered some decent restaurant recommendations.

Unfortunately we were put in a room right above the road on the second floor and could hear the bus traffic passing by all evening. This was compounded by the solid mattress that made it uncomfortable to sleep. While the Pokolodi can't change much about their location and rooms, we were dissappointed to find a huge tear in our comforter when we arrived. The rip was nicely hidden by the housekeeper underneath the pillow and left for us to find. This made us a bit hessitant to sleep on the sheets beneath it, but found the rest of the room to be clean enough.

The breakfast also leaves quite a bit to be desired. They did have toast, english muffins, hard boiled eggs and cereal. While that may have worked in the 90's, the standard continental breakfast is now far superior to their selection (even in expensive ski towns).

In the end, we left the Pokolodi somewhat dissappointed after reading all the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, but for the price we paid you cannot expect the Ritz. Would we tell you to stay away, probably not. Would we go back ourselves, probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, even without the winter activities the road noise was evident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skijosh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    81
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
58
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Pokolodi is great value for Snowmass. The rooms are spartan but you're not here for the rooms, right? Everthing worked and was very clean and up to date, which is my basic standard. The breakfast was everything you need and the pool is actually beautiful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubs2184
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for a music festival. It was conveinantly located within a few yards from the bus stop which brought us right to the Festival at Snowmass Park. Rooms all had balconies, mini fridge, flat screen TV & nice bedding. We got a great price, and the pool looked nice even though we didn't have time to use it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubs2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had a great time here, we were able to check in at Noon even with it being a busy Holiday weekend. The General Manager Dave was awesome! He let us leave our bags at the front desk while we went out to lunch and when we got back, he already took our bags to our room and had our keys waiting for us. We will be back! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikibarber33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My wife and I were in town to see Zac Brown at Jazz Aspen Snowmass, and as usual, used Tripadvisor to find a great hotel. The great reviews did not disappoint! The Pokolodi has a really friendly and helpful staff that do what they can to make your stay comfortable. The location right below the Snowmass Mall is very handy for shopping and restaurants. We stayed on the bottom floor and had a nice patio that looks out at the trees and sidewalk for people watching. The only negatives would be that the pool and hot tub close too early, so we couldn't get a dip in after the concert, and they could have a few more choices for breakfast. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Pokolodi to anyone going to Snowmass Village in the winter or summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The summer rates are very good. The rooms are clean and the swimming pool and hot tub are conveniently located. The complimentary breakfast was was the usual continental fare with cereals, toast, boiled eggs, etc. The property is located near to the Upper Mall and restaurants. The only negative that we noted was that the rooms do not have air conditioning. Sleeping was difficult due to the day time heating, but the room cooled off around midnight when the cool mountain breezes wafted through the room. The property is near the lake where the Mastodons were found. However, the archeological site is not available to visitors due to construction at the site. A local museum has replicas of what was found at the site. All the original bones were moved to the Museum of Nature in Science in Denver.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-YooHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The staff (Dave) was very helpful and accommodating. This is an older lodge/hotel in the center of Snowmass Village that is very clean and maintained. It is next to the bus/shuttle stop. Also, adjacent free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
6.6 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolodi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolodi Lodge

Property: Pokolodi Lodge
Address: 25 Daly Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Snowmass Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
#5 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pokolodi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pokolodi Lodge is one of Snowmass Village's most popular lodges. Conveniently located adjacent to the Village Mall and to the Snowmass Ski Area, the Pokolodi prides itself on service and family friendliness. Each room is equipped with color cable TV, refrigerators, coffee makers and hair dryer. Relax in the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Daily maid service, ski storage and laundry facilities are also provided. Shuttle service to and from the Aspen/Snowmass Airport is complimentary during business hours. The Pokolodi Lodge is a great choice for Snowmass lodging needs in both summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokolodi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolodi Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing