We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's about all....”
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Wildwood. My boyfriend had high expectations as he had stayed before and was looking forward to the improvements of a recent 're-fit'. How disappointed he was! We found the rooms to be dirty with what appeared like blood on the walls where it had looked like someone had sneezed, hairs and dust on the floor and shelves, rubbish from previous guests in the room and just a general grubby feeling. When the housekeepers came in we weren't sure what they had done other than empty the bin, replace the towels and make the beds (we were convinced we had the same sheets for 10 nights). On the subject of the beds, at least three of the people in our group (staying in separate rooms) came away with what looked like bed bugs and nasty rashes.

Although the rooms weren't up to scratch, by far the worst thing about staying at the Wildwood was the breakfast. It was appalling. Every day we were subjected to the same mix of cereal, toast or bagel (from one very slow toaster), waffles (which stuck to the machine and came out as a mess) or a poor selection of bruised fruit. The water for the tea was never hot and the whole service area was a mess with no room to cater for the number of people staying at the hotel. All of this served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery. We had a deal with our booking where breakfast was included but would definitely recommend opting out and heading out. The Big Hoss was well worth the breakfast.

On the plus side, the bar at the Wildwood was great and many beers were sunk after skiing during the happy 'hour' between 9 and 11pm where beers were 2 bucks each. The staff were pleasant and we found Dan to be very helpful. Free bus returned us to the airport on our last day.

And the location to the slope was excellent. Snowmass itself is a great place to ski within close proximity to Aspen, the Highlands and Buttermilk with a free local shuttle bus running between each. Would definitely stay in Snowmass again but would think twice about staying at the Wildwood.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room slope side gives easiest access to skiing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derica7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden81615, Director of Operations at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Derica7479, thank you for visiting the Wildwood, I am glad you found our location on Snowmass Mountain convenient and as we are only 20 minutes to Aspen we are centrally located. Our Bar does have some great Happy hour specials and I am happy that you were able to sample some of $2 draft beers.

The free continental breakfast that is part of your resort fee is for all guests at Wildwood. I apologize that it did not meet your expectations. The selections are all self serve and we have had guests that appreciate a quick breakfast on the way to the hill.

Thank you for the feedback about the cleanliness of your room during your stay. I can assure you that we complete ongoing testing for bed bugs and none have been found. I am sorry that you came away with the feeling we are not a clean hotel. We strive to provide a clean and inviting guest room to each of our guests. I hope that you reconsider and try out the new wildwood next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Wildwood Snowmass is the lesser/lower option from the Westin. They are located right next door to each other and as a Wildwood guest you get to enjoy all the amenities of the Westin (direct ski in/ski out, keeping ski equipment at the base overnight no fee, discounted equipment rental, pool/hottub use). It should be noted that yes, the quality of the Wildwood is not the same as the Westin. The rooms are very retro 70s. You don't get the plush robes and slippers, like the Westin, but it really is just a place to crash. The rooms are about normal size and LOTS of storage space, which was nice. We fit 3 adults comfortably in the room.

It is a GREAT value and you can't beat the location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden81615, admin assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay at Wildwood Snowmass and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We're so glad to hear that you found it to be a GREAT value, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next ski vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel delivered for my son and me. It's not fancy, but has all the amenities. Nice warm hot tubs and pool. less than 100 yards to slopes. And a great bar/social scene. I had read many critical reviews of this property, but you have to take them in stride. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on ground floor, which turned out to be fine. we needed two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden81615, admin assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for posting this great review after your recent stay with your son. We're so glad to hear that you both had a great time enjoying the hot tubs, bar, and proximity to the slopes. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Understand that the Wildwood is neither the Ritz Carleton nor the Westin so keep you expectations reasonable; although Wildwood guests have reciprocity with its sister hotel the Westin which is close by. This hotel is a very good value for its location. The rooms are a touch small but they are clean, the bed super comfortable and the shower great. Anyway, you should be skiing not sitting in any hotel room in Snowmass. The young folks at the front desk are just great, friendly and very accommodating. Dan was outstanding. He worked with me so that I could come in early to be able to drive down from Steamboat Springs to miss an impending s snow storm and put me in my originally reserved room so that I would not have to change rooms during my stay. I forgot my goggles and asked Dan where I could get a decent deal to purchase another pair which I really don’t need. Dan said he would lend me a pair of his and they were promptly delivered to my room - now that’s outstanding guest service!
I would skip the free continental breakfast; I’ve had better at a Comfort Inn. Go to Big Hoss for breakfast. It’s close by; the food is great and the service quick so you can hit the slopes.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden81615, admin assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear you found your room to be clean and your bed to be super comfortable and the shower great. Like you said, it's all about the outdoor activities here in Snowmass! And thanks for the kudos for Dan - he's a rock star. Come back and see us in the summer for hiking, biking, rafting and outdoor concerts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here last January 2014 and found the place cozy. Location was good since it is near a mall and restaurants offering different cuisines. Found their front office staff GIAN friendly, accommodating and informative, keep it up! For the price and location, it certainly is worth the stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Deogracias2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden81615, admin assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the great review and for specifially giving a shout-out to GIAN. We're glad that you appreciated the great location and price, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights from 19th through to 27th Jan 2014. Mainly here to see xgames.
Room was lovely, great size, cleaned every day to a high standard. A little cold sometimes but not too bad. Food was amazing, try the chicken yakatori. Hmmmm. Bar staff very friendly. My only gripe was with the underage drinking in the hot tub and piles of vomit that I found the next day..and the day after that. Didn't seem to be much in the way of security and stopping people making noise after 11pm at night. Also a bit shocked by the service tax of $25 each day that was slapped on. Apparently for the internet, shuttle service and breakfast. This wasn't explained when I checked in. Other than that great stay and would come back again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claphamcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCurnow, Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your recent stay at Wildwood. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you will return! X Games certainly provides its full amount of excitement, crowds and challenges for the resort. Lot's of young and young at heart having lots of fun, hope you were able to enjoy the games. The $25/day resort service fee, in lieu of other incidental charges, does provide our guest airport transfers, in-room WiFi and daily continental breakfast. This is communicated in the reservation process and you certainly may opt out of the charge and pay for each service individually. Generally we find that guests see great value in the bundled fee. Thank you once again for your review and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

On-line pricing is deceptive. Extra person is $85.00 nite. Internet fee of $20.00 nite.
Many extra fees they do not advertise.
Hotel was old but had been updated. Not much you can do with the room size or the size of the bathrooms.
Bar area was nice

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2015

Dear Bill M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the bar area. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Your comments about the corresponding fees and room size have been noted and will be used to improve our guests satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
191 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range: £99 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing