We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of Shaft Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Shaft Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sorry to see this place has closed this summer. We've eaten here often in the summer and sorry to see it is gone now.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Fork, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It WAS a great place too meet new people in the bar and the locals also met up there. A band on weekends and good food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAIvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good Food for a small place. A little pricey for what we had. Service was good and fast. It worked out for a tired driver who didn't want to drive to Pagosa Springs

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddiem68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small town restaurant”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in South Fork on our ski vacation to Wolf Creek, and found that really the only place where someone could go to watch a football game out would be the Shaft Bar- not the restaurant (there are no tvs in the restaurant portion). We didn't have to wait long for service and found it to be adequate, but it seems that the restaurant was not well prepared for the holiday season's influx of customers (for example, they were out of what I would imagine to be popular menu items, like green chili and pizza). Not a place I would regularly go but certainly fit the needs for our vacation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not up to par this time”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've eaten here during our Christmas holiday skiing at Wolf Creek the last few years and this time it just wasn't good. There was only one other table seated when we arrived at 5:45 which was unusual for Christmas week in South Fork seeing at there are only 1 or 2 other restaurants open in the winter. The menus need a good wiping as they looked and felt like they were covered in grease and the place just looked unclean and overly dusty. The Christmas decorations they had in the entrance had years of layers of dust and dirt on them which was a bad first impression walking in the door. The server was more than a little spacey and maybe she was new, but she had no clue what beers they had and had to keep running to the kitchen to ask questions about the menu like "can we omit the onions from the cheese fries?". The food was so so but average bar food was expected. Biggest complaint is it was FREEZING. We kept our winter coats and hats on the whole time. If I could operate a fork and knife with mittens on I would have. I would say we won't return but with limited options in South Fork we probably will and we are hoping they make some improvements to their food and atmosphere before next year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaft Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing