We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The accomodations were great - two bedrooms, separate from kitchen and living room, with two double beds in each room. Plus it had a hide a bed in the living room. The owner's couldn't have been nicer. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Plus, it was quiet...not on a busy highway full of restaurants and businesses. Very nice..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have been staying at foothills lodge intermittantly for over 30 yrs thru several owners. The cabins are the same but have been well maintained and recently painted. We usually stay in one of the 2 bedroom cabins and come for 3 days to a week. The cabins have there own kitchen and are nicely stocked with pots pans and utensils. There is a coffee maker with filters and a toaster which is a new addition as there has not been one in the past. There is also salt and pepper. There were new pans in our cabin but they nicely found me one of their old cast iron frying pans when asked as I enjoy cooking with cast iron. The new owners have put up a number of bird feeders and there is a lot of interesting birdlife around with lots of hummingbirds. There are gas or charcoal grills available outside each cabin for your use and a hot tub as well. The beds have been upgraded and were quite comfortable. The bathroom is small but clean and adaquate. The TV is older but there is cable(who comes to Colorado to watch TV?) and wireless internet for free. These are log cabins and as such are rustic but they seem to fit well into the environment. The site of foothills is tucked back where highways 160 and 149 split and it may not seem to be a great site but once on the property it seems fine. We will continue to stay here yearly and love the place as there is plenty of room to spread out in the cabins. We always bring a box of staples, coffee, sugar, ketchup, spices and the like so we only have to buy fresh food at the Rainbow grocery just around the corner. Give Foothills a try as i am sure you will like it.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a day,get a cabin if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We had to laugh when we read about the "new owners!" This is our 12th summer at Foothills Lodge and Cabin. We thank you for this comment as we consider it the highest compliment and have worked hard to change some things around and improve guest service. Our managers are new and we think they are doing a fine job of working with our guests. THANK YOU for your kind review and appreciation of our efforts to please our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We rented Cabin #4, which was a 2-bedroom cabin. It was spacious, well stocked, and the beds were very comfy. It had two tables in the living/dining room, enough to seat 10 people. It was just the two of us, but some of our relatives were camped in their RV's nearby. It rained several days while we were there, so during rainy days they came to our cabin for games and meals. The management brought us some extra chairs and were so nice and helpful. Every day they asked if we needed anything and very promptly brought anything we asked for. Making the reservation was quick and easy and the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed everything about our stay there and are recommending it to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: They have adjoining rooms. Our cabin would sleep up to 9 people. Sometimes we have a big group of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandotkenpa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your wonderful comments. Looking forward to your next visit. Bring your friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've been coming here for many years and love the South Fork area. We always have loved the accommodations here at the Foothills. This trip was special because of the fire that had threatened the area. The owners have just updated the rooms and cabins with new furniture and mattresses. You can tell they really care about this property. Not a trace of ash or soot - Clean! All our needs were provided for with a smile. Will be back again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family and I would definitely stay here again. Everything was clean and well stocked. The two bedroom cabin was just what we needed. Most of our time was spent away from the cabin but it sort of felt like we were "coming home" when we got back to South Fork each night.The beds were comfy and the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Foothills Lodge and Cabins. We have many new enhancements and are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay. It is encouraging to know you will be back! Thank you for being such a great guest. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I travel through Colorado on our way to Utah from Dallas, TX. We decided to give Foothills Lodge and Cabins a try. Needless to say that we will be staying here from now on when we make our yearly trip. I actually would like to stay a few days next time and explore the local hiking trails. The cabin was spotless, had everything we needed, and the property was well organized and maintained. I also want to give a shout out to MIchael the Cat. He was the first one to greet us when we arrived and my daughter just loved him. See you guys next year!

Room Tip: The whole property is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllPurposePapoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We just purchased all new beds and had a recent face lift. It warms our hearts to have our guests notice our efforts. Michael is THE best greeter! He has been with us around 5 or 6 years having been dropped off here in the middle of winter. He was skin and bones ..... now he is quite the hefty feline. So glad you had a wonderful time. We love what we do here. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I travel to South Fork a couple of times a year. We always stay at the foothills.. It's like being at home. There is a living room and kitchen with a full refrigerator. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is stocked with dishware and pots and pans. It is very reasonably priced for what you get. I would highly recommend this place for comfort and relaxation.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and there is a restaurant within walking distance that is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybowler601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We strive to give our guests more than their money's worth. As you know, we are the same owners but with fresh new management. We are working hard to "get it right." Thanks, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
163 reviews
25 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
179 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Riverside Meadows
Riverside Meadows
#2 of 19 in South Fork
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Lodge & Cabins

Address: 35 Silverthread Ln, South Fork, CO 81154-9709
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range: £38 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foothills Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foothills Lodge and Cabins offers stand alone log cabins, lodge style cabins and a lodge room in the heart of South Fork, an all year outdoor sports destination location near fishing, Wolf Creek Ski Area, hiking, biking, Gold Medal fishing, ATVing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and all the outdoor sports! Rafting, hot springs and Sand Dunes National Park a short drive from our location. NEW BEDS and many recent upgrades. FREE use of snowshoes, sleds, inflatable kayaks. Our location is back off of Highway 160,a much quieter location than most lodging properties in town. Amenities include free WIFI, flat screen TV's, NFL Package DirecTV, full kitchens in all log cabins and lodge cabins. Central hot tub, swim spa, complimentary snowshoes, sleds. Offering ski packages saving $5 on all day adult ski tickets for our guests up at Wolf Creek Ski Area. Choose from one or two bedrooms, pet or non pet, fireplace or standard accommodations, more economical lodge cabins (4 to a building) or stand alone log cabins. One cabin with private hot tub. Cabins accommodate 1-10 depending on your choice of accommodations. In South Fork, the closest town to Wolf Creek Ski Area. Plenty of parking for all your outdoor toys. Many of our guests have been staying with us over 30 years. We would love to add you to our list of return guests! Stay in a fully equipped cabin at the price of a local motel room. You'll understand why our guests return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Foothills Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Lodge & Cabins South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing