We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. and Cabins
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The cabins are charming and clean with everything you need and more in the kitchen.
I love the personal touches like wild flowers in a vase on my table.
Each cabin is decorated with a theme appropriate to the name.
Loved meeting Shelley and Stan. They are so friendly and helpful.
Can't wait to come back.
Thanks, ann.

Room Tip: Any cabin will be fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

stayed there in august 2014 the new managers were awesome they just took over management 7 weeks ago and had a lot of things to get fixed gut they always had time to address or issues we did not have a lot just minor stuff but they stopped what they were doing to fix it thank stan and shelley for a great time we stayed in true grit 3 beddroom

Room Tip: all cabins are nice was able to see them i will come back again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was my first trip to South Fork, Colorado and it was majestic. I stayed at Goodnight's Lonesome Dove in a log cabin named "The Texan", appropriately decorated. It featured a huge great room with a comfortable sofa, a boot lamp, a couple of wing-backed chairs, bunk beds, and a little electric heater if the nights prove to chilly. Frankly I never turned on the heater as the nighttime temperatures were a welcome change from the hot muggy triple digits i came from. There was a separate bedroom that contained a king-sized bed and a kitchenette with everything I needed to cook a hot meal, have a cup of coffee or enjoy a cold brew. The cabin had a bathroom with a small shower and plenty of water pressure. The bathroom lighting was a bit dim if you need to apply makeup, but anyone needing to that probably shouldn't be there. There is a sweet patio area next to the office with benches, a hot tub, a dry sauna, and a gorgeous tall aromatic blue spruce right in the middle. Directly behind the cabins are dog trails for walking and people trails for hiking and once you've explored those, there a dozen others every few miles up and down the highway. One in particular I recommend is Big Meadows about 11 miles west of South Fork, just up the road from Lonesome Dove. This is not some fancy 5-star resort, but it was clean, comfortable, had no odd odors, and the linens were fresh as a daisy. The night sky was pitch black and full of stars for those folks from cities who forgot what they look like.

Enough about the accomodations, now on to the good part. The new managers (Stan and & Shelly Johnston), who told me they took over the place around the first of July, were amazing people. I don't know what the previous managers were like, but I could not ask for more from these folks. They were friendly, polite, and told me all about the place, the history and where to go for various things, whether it be to hike or grocery shop or whatever. They had two friendly boxers, and while they were very sweet dogs, I think anyone always has to use common sense with their own dogs, especially if they are small. While I was there I saw Stan help some woman who came in off the highway and had a problem with her car. He hooked up a scanner, fixed the problem and sent her on her way. In addition to these great managers, I met a lot of folks who were staying in the Lonesome Dove RV section (who evidently have been coming for years) and they were amazing. It was like this little close knit community of people who just help each other. I kind of felt like I had taken this crazy step back in time were life was so much simpler and people actually talked to each other and just hang out. No one was checking their phone every few seconds to see if someone had called checking Facebook to see if there was a new post, or looking to see if anyone had drawn a picture in Drawsome. No Angry Birds, no Words with Friends. Just peace and quiet and community they way human beings were intended to interact with each other.

All I can say is I cannot wait to go back. I had a wonderful time and I hope to take even more time off next summer and really immerse myself in this Lonesome Dove culture. Bless you folks for a rejuvenated me. Goodnight Lonesome Dove, until we meet again.

Room Tip: Every room has it's own distinct personality. Call Shelly, one of the managers, and she can fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not only is the location amazing the new caretakers are awesome!! I have found life long friends in Shelley and Stan. If you want a quiet relaxing mountain experience that feels like home...GLD is the place to stay. They were so welcoming to my kids and dogs. Never experienced that before. Horseback riding and hiking trials on site and super close to rafting and fly fishing trips. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First of all we greated by Stan. Stan was gentle in voice and very welcoming. He showed us the cabins he had available and welcomed us. Well after seeing the Cabins and how Stan welcomed us, it was definitely the place to stay. It is not only the cabins that make this place a spectacular place to stay, but the people who run it. Stan and Shelly are kind hearted and willing to assist you with whatever you may need. Not that we needed anything. The cabin was clean, the shower had good pressure,the furniture was of good quality,the furnace worked without even hearing it, the kitchenette was equipped and the Satellite was up and running. I only wish that we could have stayed a couple of night longer. Had I known I was going to have such a great experience, I would have planned to stay here a couple more nights. Well, I guess there is always a next time, but this is definitely a five star, all around. Good for couples, family, family and friends and pets are welcome too. oh yea, they have dvd movies that you can just pick up and watch in your room, books and game boards and also a pool table that guests are welcome to at no extra charge..... I love this place! Hats off to Stan and Shelly. Eva and Mark Abeyta

Room Tip: I didn't ask if the cabin had Wi-Fi since I didn't plan on using it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 591evaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our 3rd time visiting the campground and first time in a cabin. We appreciated the central heat the cabin provided, even in July, since the overnight temps got pretty cool and this afforded us the ability to chase off the overnight chill. The cabin, Pea-Eye, was clean with lovely accommodations and we stayed for 10 days during which we were able to get fresh linens halfway into our stay. The Management is new but should be commended at their ability to get caught up and get a handle on the property. They are very friendly and accommodating and Shell makes a point to know your name - she is amazing. The resident boxers are equally friendly and somewhat exuberant about making new friends, but are no threat to anyone or any other dog that visits. Also, I left accidentally left something in the cabin and Shell is making sure it gets back to me safely. I look forward to visiting in the future and seeing the friendly faces that I've come to know.

One draw back... WIFI is sketchy - but hey, I was on vacation, so I didn't really care.

Room Tip: The cabins have generous accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingbyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've been visiting this area of Colorado since I was a young child and this is BY FAR the worst place I've ever stayed. The water coming out of the faucets in our cabin smelled like rotten eggs! It was so horrid that we could not even shower in there. Other family member's cabins didn't even have hot water. When we notified management all they said was that there was nothing they could do about it. The bed linens were so dusty, they probably had not been washed. All of the dishes had old food stuck on them and I had to re-wash everything before we could even use it.

The property itself was terribly maintained....the grass was overgrown, the putt-putt course was torn to shreds, and the "pavilion" was nothing more than a run-down shack with some tables inside. A total joke! The "grocery store" that was advertised on their website was nothing more than a coke machine with a few sodas in it.

I was so disappointed. We will not be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonesomeDoveMngr, Owner at Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Kim,

I sincerely appreciate the input on your stay at Goodnight’s Lonesome. I’m sorry you had a bad experience. We have been in business for over forty years and many customers return year after year for our beautiful scenery and hospitality. The property had fallen to neglect in recent years and during your stay we were in between caretakers. We now have a wonderful new management team overseeing many upgrades and improvements at the property. The items you referenced in your review were remedied shortly after your stay as you can see in the newly updated photos of our property. With this, I would like to offer you a 20% discount on your next stay at Lonesome Dove and encourage you to see the positive changes that were made. Also, we would greatly appreciate it if you would add to or amend your original review to reflect our response and the new photos. Trip Advisor reviews are very helpful to us and we would like them to be as up-to-date as possible.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Colorado Lonesome Dove Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
5.6 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
241 reviews
5.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
5.1 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
184 reviews
9.3 mi away
Riverside Meadows
Riverside Meadows
#2 of 19 in South Fork
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. and Cabins

Address: 180065 US Highway 160, South Fork, CO 81154-9718
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in South Fork
Price Range: £7 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Place year round! 10 Cabins which are clean, comfortable, and cozy, fully equipped with kitchen, living room/dining, full bathroom, all linens & kitchen cookware and utensils, free WIFI, flat screen televisions. Our 36 RV Sites are full hook ups & our 3 Tent Sites come with water and electricity all with Free Wi-Fi: Our whole property is Pet Friendly, Our Hot Tub stays at a nice and toasty 104 degrees, we offer Pool table, Putt - Putt golf - basketball, horseshoes, free video library for all of our guest to use, as well as we have board games and books free for our guest to use during their stay with us and to top it off all of this sitting in a beautiful area surrounded by mountains and wildlife. We have a beautiful pavilion that is both indoor and outdoor, with the outdoor area being covered as well, great for get together's & Family Reunions. Close to Wolf Creek Ski Area were just 16 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodnight's Lonesome Dove R.V. And Cabins South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing