We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family place”

Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in South Fork
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Creede, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great family restaurant right along the Rio Grande River. They have a lodge, cabins and RV spots. Reminds me of the movie "The Great Outdoors".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Don't go expecting a three star, white table cloth dining experience. If fresh trout expertly prepared, friendly and prompt service and very reasonable prices are of interest to you then put The Blue Creek Lodge at the top of your list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samftla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff overall excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My hamburger was not cooked throughly. They apologized over and over. To that I am much pleased. I wiil go back there again because they were so nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A+ for atmosphere and food...service a bit slow and inattentive...but hey...no hurry...we're in the mountains!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Do ask for the Amish pie, but split a piece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

A tiny-looking place, but there are actually 3 dining areas. All log walls, quite the lodge feel.
We had supper there with pie for dessert. Husband had fried trout, baked potato, salad. I had same ..but grilled trout instead. I recommend the fried.
The fried is very lightly coated and quite tasty. The grilled was overcooked and quite salty. I scraped off the seasoning and it was still quite a bit salty.
The baby carrots were delicious - included with fish, but not mentioned in menu.
The baked potato is quite good - in foil, served with a tub of butter and tub of sour cream.
The salad is good, too, mixed greens, shredded carrots, crackers provided.
The PIES, though. . are . The Best Pies EVER. Evidently there is a local Amish community that bakes them, and delivers them regularly. They are made from fresh ingredients (fresh sliced peaches, for example, not canned) and probably all natural. The crust is unbelievably good. They can (but don't always) have blueberry, cherry, peach, apple, coconut cream, strawberry rhubarb, and I don't know what else). We've sampled most of those and they're all equally fresh and good.
Do check out the John Wayne memorabilia room in the back, and the amazing spiral log staircase in the front restaurant room.
They have lodge rooms, of course, and rental cabins, and even RV space, but . .that looked iffy to us, mostly permanent types, and quite crammed, and not spiffed up. The cabins are probably quite basic and low on charm, but the little Blue Creek valley you're nestled in has plenty of its own charm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joyussohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant also viewed

 
South Fork, CO
 

Been to Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing