We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel right at home here!”

Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in South Fork
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Feel right at home here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a great place to eat. You feel right at home when you walk in the door. Be seated and take a look at the menu. After you order, get up and go to the gift shop or wander off to the John Wayne room to look around. Off from the gift shop are the remains of the old beauty parlor including an Old Helene Curtis electric roller contraption that you MUST see!!!!! My steak and salad was excellent and the fudge pie is so rich that you need to split it with somebody!!! An excellent choice for dinner or just dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome mountain getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The owners were the sweetest! We booked in advance- a smaller cabin, we were trying to be thrifty. After they met us, they insisted on upgrading us to a bigger cabin at no charge! Great people- beautiful views-stellar accommodations! We loved every minute of our stay!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoJoRising70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love John Wayne this is the place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The food is very good, but a little pricey. Worth the extra drive up. Great service and the best John Wayne Room I have ever seen. From what the owner has said John Wayne ate there back in the day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravette, AR
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the Blue Creek on the one night we stayed in South Fork. The food was good. The service was good. The view was great! The grilled trout was very tasty. It was actually a little over 10 miles out of the city limits of south fork so don't let the distance on TA of 1.8 miles fool ya. Good experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank PierceGravette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some folks not so welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

During a recent visit to Creede, Colorado, one of our favorite places to visit in Colorado, we stopped for lunch at the Blue Creek Lodge (address: South Fork, Colorado) a place most visitors to the area would recognize. It was lunch time and the restaurant was full of what seemed to be pretty friendly folks. The lunch was pretty good, we enjoyed it and talked to a table beside us. When we went to the restrooms we noticed the gift shop with Tee shirts on a rack. They looked innocent enough. My husband had been talking to a lady at the next table and she was going to buy a "Blue Creek Lodge" tee shirt. She asked my husband if it suited her; he returned to our table and whispered "I didn't know what to say, she had the back of the tee shirt up to her and it read "Take Gun Control and Shove It Up Your (democratic donkey pictured). He was shocked. Later I looked at the tee shirts and they all said that on the back. We had looked at rooms there, but were not inclined to stay there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant also viewed

 
South Fork, CO
 

Been to Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing