We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Riverbend Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Fork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverbend Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have stayed at Riverbend with just us two or groups of 10 or more over the past 10 years. The great amenities, proximity to Southfork and Wolf Creek, peace of mind, beautiful scenery and great hosts, Linda and Dan make Riverbend a haven!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eblack1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Peaceful but energizing. I stayed here in May 2005 and finally got a chance to get back for a few days. Same hospitable owners, they have improved the cabins to even better than what I remember from last visit. The cabins are clean and warm and the views of the river are incredible. I love the sound of the water than can easily be heard from the porch. Total comfort with a rustic appeal....I will be back again....

Room Tip: Just let them know what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My husband and I met up with a few friends to do some skiing at Wolf Creek and we all needed to find a place that was close and inexpensive. Riverbend was both.
Old accomidations but very clean. The cabin had everything we needed to make all of our meals. Not the newest of everything, but everything. They have a jacuzzi, a game room, a play set for children, and beautiful scenery of course. They will also supply you with bird seed so you can watch the beautiful birds right outside your window.
I read another persons review who was very unhappy with their stay. Although Im sure all of this happened, we had no problems with any of these isues and would definately reccomend this place to anyone on a budget, who would like to be close to the ski resort, and enjoys modest and charming (in its own way) resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicklet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Riverbend is Awesome!!! Our favorite home away from home. The kids love the playground and the wonderful fishing. There is nothing better than a good long soak in the hot tub followed up by a peaceful nights sleep in the fresh mountain air. The rustic cabins are comfortable and homey and listening to a crackling fire while watching your favorite movie in the mountains.......what could be better. Hiking and fishing in the summer to skiing and snow mobiling in the winter Riverbend is spectacular any season.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionisio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband, dog and I stayed at Riverbend Resort in January 2010 and we liked it so much we came back in March. It is a great place to chill out and on our second trip, we were able to hike and enjoyed the peaceful sound of the Rio Grande River outside our cabin. It is rustic, so don't expect luxury. But, it's neat, clean and the staff is very helpful and pet friendly. We are already planning another trip back in September!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Do Not Stay at Riverbend Resort; it is a Nightmare! The "cabins" are really falling apart old mobile homes covered with fake wood siding. The back door to our cabin did not work, prompting us to have to call management within a few minutes of our arrival. Further our cabin filled with smoke when we lite a fire and the furnace came on. This forced us to open all the windows just to stop the smoke alarm. We then had to extinguish the logs and carry them out the front door still hot and dump them in the snow. All that was just in the first few hours.

Add to that management that doesn't know the meaning of customer service. Staff that messed up our reservations and billed us for an extra days stay, which we are still dealing with a week after our stay, prompting us to contact our credit card company just to get a refund because the managment/staff is so incompetent.

Last year we stayed at the Foot Hills Lodge, it is a couple of miles away, a tiny bit less expensive and SO MUCH BETTER!

I can not stress enough that you should not stay at Riverbend Resort.!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This place far exceeded our expectations. We booked our cabin very last minute and were expecting to get the one nobody wanted. We headed to South Fork to Ski Wolf Creek with our 4 yr old son over Thanksgiving. We were even able to take our dog as this place is dog friendly. There was a last minute cancelation and we were able to have a cabin for three nights. We are luxury travelers whenever possible and we knew this would not be a luxury place. However, our cabin was more than we expected. Rustic and charming. Full sized bathrooms and a well stocked kitchen. Full sized fire place, great patio with grill over looking the river below. You could even hear the water. We stayed in the bottom portion of the Aspen. It was perfect. The pictures dont do it justice. Very comfortable and although not luxury we lacked for nothing in all the creature comforts. The property is rustic in theme and situated along a babbling river, calm enough in summer to wade and fish. They even give you bird seed to feed the birds that eat right out of your hand. My son loved doing this. There is a community hot tub, game room, fire pit, club house, ping pong, rustic themed playground for little ones, hiking trails for summer. We mostly enjoyed cooking and hanging by the fire as we spent most of our time on the mountain. We plan to return when the weather warmer. It seems summer is high season for them. It is a stellar value for families with or without kids. This would be the perfect place to just sit chill and relax in the summer. Great base camp for us as we were 1/3 the way up the mountain to the ski area and maybe just a mile or two from town. FYI Small town. Maybe 4-5 restaurants and one grocery. If you need a supermarket get your groceries on your way up in Alamosa or Del norte. I hear Pagosa Springs area is really nice. We never made it down the other side of the mountain as we came in from the East side and stayed in South Fork. We will be back and will tell our friends. PS The staff at River Bend was super friendly and very helpful. I felt like an guest at someone's home. They went out of their way to welcome us and make us comfortable during our stay. PS We drove in from Frisco TX (north of Dallas). It took us 13 hours in the car with a 4 yr old and a dog. Not too bad.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasTXEventplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
5.4 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
6.7 mi away
Riverside Meadows
Riverside Meadows
#2 of 19 in South Fork
47 reviews
4 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Resort

Address: 33846 US Highway 160, South Fork, CO 81154-9717
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in South Fork
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River front cabins, RV sites and camping, 3 miles west from South Fork, CO. Modern log cabins have at least one bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, gas furnace, wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV, outdoor charcoal grill and a covered deck. Cabins sleep 2-15. Bedding and linens provided, Pet Friendly, Wi-Fi, Satellite TV, Laundry, Showers, Playground, Rec hall, Game Room, Gift Shop. Approximately 1 mile of private seasonally-stocked trout fishing. 15 miles to Wolf Creek Ski Area ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverbend Resort South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing