We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our trip and One Night at the Chinook - Beautiful Area”

Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our trip and One Night at the Chinook - Beautiful Area”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family was passing through to Pagosa Springs and stayed at the Chinook for one night. I chose it because the price is great and the "cowboy" cabin would sleep our group of 5 easily - It will hold several more, so great for a large family. Hard to find somewhere for us and three grown children without getting 2 rooms at a hotel. The cabin is rustic and very interesting. It was also extremely clean so no problems there. The bathroom is small due to the age of these cabins, but just part of the charm of the place. There is a nice screened in porch with a futon if you need it - this is a great room for your gear etc. If you are expecting a 4 Star hotel - go somewhere else, if you like a little adventure and rustic charm then this is the place. Rich and Debby were very nice and were quick to solve the one little problem we had. This also would make a perfect base camp if you go to ATV / UTV in the South Fork area!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72chev_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Comfortable lodging, great hosts. We arrived just in time for a pot luck supper and were invited to attend but assured we need not bring anything since we'd just arrived. My husband still found time to run into town to grab a couple of items. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A great stay at Chinnook. Cabins with rustic old style charm that really enhanced our Colorado experience. As some reviews indicated – furnishings are a little tired – but this made no difference to us – we were glad to be able to stay in a real log cabin not a commercialised approximation of one. We stayed in Santa’s Hideaway, it was immaculately clean and perfect for the two nights we were there. Plus, a little plate of homebaked chocolate chip cookies was waiting for us on arrival – delish!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My mother and I headed down to South Fork, over the 4th of July weekend, to explore the area and to use Chinook as our base. We enjoyed our little cabin ( The Southwest), very quaint and fun. But in returning will definitely get a cabin that has a full kitchen.)
The location was very quiet not as large as many of the RV places and very easy to find.
Debbie and Rich the owners are very nice and friendly.
On our next trip, we will definitely try and eat at the Smokehouse - (was underwhelmed with the restaurants we did try in South Fork).
Initially, I wanted to stay in Creede or Monte Vista but the prices were outrageous (I thought), and the Chinook looked like a fun and affordable alternative (and it was) very happy with the choice we made!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icebearrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I stayed at Chinook for one night on my way through South Fork by bike. The owner gave me a warm welcome and set me up in the 100 year old refurbished Grandma cabin. It was so cozy, comfortable and had all the modern ammenities to compliment the rustic mountain charm, making it hard to leave the next day. Thanks Chinook for going to the extra effort to make my stay a memorable pleasure. Wish I could come back for the homemade smoked meats and pulled brisket sandwiches that must be delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnboggess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet get a way after his cancer treatment. What a wonderful surprise. We love the mountains, being from Oklahoma. We wanted a place that was quiet, cool (after suffering through the Oklahoma heat) and basically relaxing. We found this website, and I promise you, it is exactly what they say it is. We rented Grandma's cabin. Cute, quaint, and cozy. Not the Taj Mahal, but if you are looking for a place to get away from it all, this is for you. The owners were more than accommodating, very friendly, and welcoming. The smokehouse restaurant is awsome. If you just want a place to relax, enjoy the mountains, and chill out, Chinook Lodge is the place. Oh, we took our dog Lucy with us and she loved it. Said to tell you that she will go back anytime. Hope to make it back maybe this winter sometime. Close to Wolf Creek Ski area, but maybe just to enjoy the snow.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelucytulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our visit to Chinook Lodge was during late June, My wife and two teenage girls had no problems keeping occupied. The weather was fantastic, you will want to sit outside and enjoy the crisp blue sky and scenery. Property backups up to a mountain so you have some very nice scenery to enjoy. The Rio Grande River is across the street from the property.
There are 9 cabins which all have a different decorating theme, property also has 18 RV sites with full hookups. We stayed in a cabin with a fully outfitted kitchen, all utensils, frig, stove. The cabin had a fireplace and TV but we had no time for that. Outside the cabin was a grill and table which we took full advantage, the local grocery store is very near the property. We had lunch at the sandwich shop and smokehouse on the property, very good food and lots of it, good value for the dollar. We also sampled some of their jerky produced at the smokehouse, trust me you will want to take a few pounds with you, the flavor was awesome. The grounds are well maintained.
After talking with the owners Rich and Debby, we found there are numerous activities in the area for year round enjoyment. Horseback Riding, Four Wheeling, Rafting, Mountain Biking, Snowmobiling, Hunting, Hiking, Skiing, Fishing, Camping, Golf, ATV riding. In my opinion it would be a fantastic place to stay during ski season instead of hanging out at the local ski resort. Rich and Debby made us feel at home, we enjoyed a bonfire and shared many stories with other guests during our visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMamaCherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
0.2 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
1.3 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 16 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Fork Lodge and RV Park
South Fork Lodge and RV Park
#13 of 16 in South Fork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Pine Cabins & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Pine Cabins & RV

Property: Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Address: 29666 US Highway 160, South Fork, CO 81154-9501 (Formerly Chinook Lodge & Smokehouse)
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Pine Cabins & RV 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Snowy Pine Cabins & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing