We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit”

Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We recently stayed in the Victorian Rose cabin. It is a very comfortable and spacious cabin with all the amenities we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating to our needs as we had our three young children with us. We only stayed one night, but had we planned better, we would have stayed longer in this charming cabin near the sounds of the rushing river nearby. We also high recommend the sandwich lunch that our hosts have right on the cabin grounds. What a great vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Chinook Lodge in the very clean/comfortable Fisherman's Cabin. We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin had everything needed --2 comfortable queen beds; a futon, table, chairs/benches and small kitchenette in another room and a small bathroom with a shower (no tub); stool and a sink outside the bathroom. Unlike other cabins we have stayed in, we really appreciated the instant "hot water" on cold nights when washing hands; showering. (Had adequate heating...but I like to keep rooms on the cool side.) Small fridge, sink, microwave, toaster and stove top in the kitchen (and came equipped with dishes, pots and pans, eating utensils, etc.) Had a yard swing which we relaxed in and enjoyed the moutain views from. Near the pretty Rio Grande River (which we had hoped to fish in, but it was a bit too early in the season for it...so we drove up to the Rio Grande Reservoir instead to fish.) The only "con" I can think of is that it sits next to a fairly busy road and the traffic could be heard, but it wasn't too bad at the all-important bed-time. The drive up to Crede was pretty - but the drive to Pagosa Springs from South Fork was absolutely beautiful! We had been around the area before, but missed driving that particular section. The owners were very nice...for us, this was a much better option than chain hotels elsewhere. Enjoyed, would recommend and would stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My son and I stayed in the Fisherman's Cabin, it was all the website described and more. The owners, Rich and Debbie were very freindly and helpful. Would deffinately recommend this place to my family and friends!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The grounds were clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was in a convenient spot for our activities in the area, and the price was reasonable. However, the cabin (Fort Wilderness) is billed to sleep up to 8. Maybe so, but with 6 it was tight. It has two bedrooms, but you had to walk thru one to get to the other. The kitchen was so small (with greasy cabinets) we had to squeeze by each other. Lucky for us, we didn't cook or spend much time inside. The bathroom was also very cramped and the water temp in the shower went from warm to cold to scalding hot and back again. We would probably return, but choose a different cabin. The pics of this cabin on their website make it look much larger than it is....a credit to the photogragher. Our expectations may have been too high.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWink44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family was passing through to Pagosa Springs and stayed at the Chinook for one night. I chose it because the price is great and the "cowboy" cabin would sleep our group of 5 easily - It will hold several more, so great for a large family. Hard to find somewhere for us and three grown children without getting 2 rooms at a hotel. The cabin is rustic and very interesting. It was also extremely clean so no problems there. The bathroom is small due to the age of these cabins, but just part of the charm of the place. There is a nice screened in porch with a futon if you need it - this is a great room for your gear etc. If you are expecting a 4 Star hotel - go somewhere else, if you like a little adventure and rustic charm then this is the place. Rich and Debby were very nice and were quick to solve the one little problem we had. This also would make a perfect base camp if you go to ATV / UTV in the South Fork area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72chev_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Comfortable lodging, great hosts. We arrived just in time for a pot luck supper and were invited to attend but assured we need not bring anything since we'd just arrived. My husband still found time to run into town to grab a couple of items. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A great stay at Chinnook. Cabins with rustic old style charm that really enhanced our Colorado experience. As some reviews indicated – furnishings are a little tired – but this made no difference to us – we were glad to be able to stay in a real log cabin not a commercialised approximation of one. We stayed in Santa’s Hideaway, it was immaculately clean and perfect for the two nights we were there. Plus, a little plate of homebaked chocolate chip cookies was waiting for us on arrival – delish!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ZoeJVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
0.3 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
3.2 mi away
Riverside Meadows
Riverside Meadows
#3 of 19 in South Fork
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Pine Cabins & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Pine Cabins & RV

Address: 29666 US Highway 160, South Fork, CO 81154-9501 (Formerly Chinook Lodge & Smokehouse)
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in South Fork
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Pine Cabins & RV 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Snowy Pine Cabins & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing