We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This place was so adorable. The room had a rustic old feel to it. It was neat and comfortable. The service was great! They were so nice and helpful with finding things to do. They are funny too. The breakfast was good too. Cereal, danishes, poptarts, yogart and so much more! I absolutely loved the spruce lodge! My family wants to go again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtontraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    45
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
62
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked a room in the Bed & Breakfast. However, the breakfast consisted of nothing but cold gas station type food -- plastic wrapped muffins, pop tarts, granola bars, etc. The only real cooked food was some hard boiled eggs, but the same group of eggs sat out the entire weekend we were there. Gross!!! They didn't even bother to restock the pre-packaged food either and things were pretty slim pickings by our last day there. This is not at all what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be like!

The rooms were barren and had no amenities - only 2 towels, no water in the water basket, nothing!! We had to forage everything from a local store.

Their hot tub was not to be found anywhere even though they still advertise they have one.

The front desk staff was also very rude!! They treated you more as an inconvenience than anything else. And their kids were running around causing havoc all weekend.

The only good point was the whirlpool bath tub!

I will NOT be going back to this place even if you paid me to.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabbieram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent 4 nights here and had a great time with so much to do in the area with the Spruce Lodge in the heart of it all. Great owners, always helpful to make your stay special. The remodeled rooms were perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Rob & Dee took super care of our group. There were 15 of us, and they accomodated every need....and every want! Our Youth Group enjoyed the large rooms, clean grounds, river rafting, included breakfast, and friendliness of the staff (family). We had some special needs, including the need to cook for our group. Whether pizzas and corndogs in the oven, or burgers on the grill, Dee never flinched about letting us use her kitchen. They made the rafting safe and convenient. I know we were a complicated and needed group to host, but you couldn't tell it by Rob & Dee's smiles.
We would highly recommend Spruce Lodge!!

Room Tip: The upstairs bunkhouses are connect, and sleep lots!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canoga park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Spruce Lodge felt like staying with family. I stayed for 3 weeks and felt completely at home. Rather than wondering the hills, Dee took a friend of mine on a 20 mile guided hike. We stayed up telling ghost stories over glasses of wine and was given privacy when needed. Thank you Rob and Dee!

The Lone Ranger Crew.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountain High
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a lot of room in the Rio Grande Suite. That was great! We had the best sleep we've had for a long time in that huge bed. We really enjoyed the Keurig, had fun with the dogs, and Dee was so friendly and helpful it made our stay special. Two flat screen TVs, super! The refurbished room worked well.

Room Tip: Stay in the Rio Grande Suite if you can. The others are large too. Go to the Visitors Center and fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeBeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Rob and Dee run a wonderful B&B in South Fork, Colorado.
We stayed in the Rio Grande suite. The jacuzzi was great. My bad back loved the comfortable bed, The proximity to Creede was perfect to see a play at the CRT.
I also highly recommend the Silver Fork restaurant across the road.
We really enjoyed our time at the Spruce Lodge and plan to return for another stay, which is my highest form of compliment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGurvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
0.2 mi away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#9 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Property: Spruce Lodge
Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing