We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They care about their business!”
Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They care about their business!”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hi,

The owners of this hotel really care about their business. Originally, I had a bad experience. The walls are kind of thin in this place, and I had really noisy neighbors. The owners felt so badly about the situation that they refunded my stay and gave me a voucher for another stay. They didn't need to do this, but it made me feel valued which most hotels probably wouldn't do. The rooms are newly remodeled, so they are very nice and comfortable. If you have any problems when you are staying there, just call them and they'll do their best to make you happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    49
    16
    16
    10
See reviews for
78
67
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Rob and Dee were truly hospitable! They gave us a great experience. Close to Wolf Creek ski area. The restaurant has the best breakfast in town and if you just want a continental breakfast they have a great selection there as well. Way to go Rob and Dee. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edstarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our family stayed at the Spruce Lodge for the first time this past weekend. We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time! The lodge and outbuildings were beautiful and you can tell that a lot of hard work has gone in to the Spruce Lodge by the owners. The remodeling of the upstairs in the lodge was gorgeous and the owners were very welcoming and friendly. The continental breakfast had tons of options (more than I've seen at other hotels and bed and breakfasts that we've stayed at previously) and the breakfast served in the restaurant was a great value as well. All in all, we loved it and would recommend the Spruce Lodge to anyone traveling to the South Fork area!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My family has stayed at the Spruce Lodge twice while skiing at Wolf Creek. Both times we have had good stays and really enjoy how friendly the owners are. South Fork is a better place to stay when skiing than Pegosa Springs since it is closer and when the snow is flying you can still get to Wolf Creek even if it is dumping heavily, not the case in Pegosa Springs. We have not stayed in any of the cabins, only the main lodge which has a great old charm as it is nearly 100 years old.

The Spruce Lodge is also Veteran-friendly with a reserved space for Veterans. We plan to go back whenever we are skiing at Wolf Creek because of how friendly the owners are.

Room Tip: If you are picky about pillows, bring your own pillow. My wife and I have My Pillow brand pillows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

beautiful property and small hometown feel ... private Jacuzzi in each room with fireplace ... Dee (who runs the place) is amazing and ever so helpful with local attractions and activities ...
can't wait to return for my next trip!

Room Tip: no swimming pool but hot tub on premise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesenia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Spruce lodge a couple times and have no complaints. It isn't a 4 sar hotel but its a cute lodge with clean rooms, good prices, free breakfast, and its close to the slopes. They recently remodeled some of the rooms so they are better than my first stay. The staff is super friendly! We love staying at Spruce!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daxandthara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I would come back as much as I could. The service was great and the owners were super helpful and friendly. I loved the layout of our room and the whole place. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was amazing and not badly priced. I also liked having the option of a continental breakfast since we were staying there. My boyfriend and I are planning on coming back in the spring when we can go rafting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corieo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
157 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Property: Spruce Lodge
Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing