We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spruce Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Allington Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Grande Motel(Monte Vista)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Villa Inn(Monte Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Country Lodge(Pagosa Springs)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Springs Resort & Spa(Pagosa Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
151
51
17
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
51
17
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastjacuzzi tubwolf creekbox fanrustic feelqueen roomcinnamon rollsscreen doormain buildingyogurtchain hotelbeds were comfortablerio grandelove this placewill stay there againhome away from homegreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The owners were so hospitable - they even made sure we had coffee at 4:00 am as we headed out the door for our daily hunt. They also made sure the continental breakfast was out super early for us as well. The extra steps the owners took to make sure our stay was enjoyable were greatly appreciated. We had the restaurant breakfast one day, too, and it was very delicious!! I will definitely keep returning to the Spruce Lodge!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room upstairs of the main lodge
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edstarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay! The 4am continental breakfast is something you will ONLY find at the Spruce Lodge. Need to eat at 3am? Just let us know and we will have the food ready even earlier!

We hope to see you and your family again soon. Have a wonderful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After 2 different stays, my wife and I plan to return here every year. The new kitchen serves a fabulous breakfast. Rob's pancake platter is great. We take advantage of the rafting trip (which is included with a 3-night stay). It's close to the Rio Grande Golf Club which I take advantage of, too. We also like to take the 25-minute, beautiful drive up to Creede. Dee and the staff have always been helpful when we needed anything. It's just really relaxed, and there's even a fire pit to hang out at night. The rooms are clean, the TVs are big & new; the shower was a little cramped but it wouldn't prevent me from coming back. Overall, I'd rate it 4.9 out of 5 for value, location, and amenities, and 5 out of 5 for pleasantness of the proprietor. Will definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you are looking for a Hampton, Days Inn or Holiday Inn Express - DO NOT STAY HERE. But if you are looking for a room with a view of the mountains, hotel owners who will bend over backwards for you, including letting you start a fire in the firepit and bring you extra wood, then THIS IS THE PLACE for you. True there are some older rooms, but the ones facing the back are all updated and new. The breakfast in the lodge was incrediable, the best we had on our trip, all 12 of us agreeded. There was a resturant on site, which was ok. We did enjoy our stay here and would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjac0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After reading the excellent ratings from other guests I had to do some further review to make sure we were talking about the same place. The managers response to other unfavorable reviews makes me a bit hesitant to say this, but here goes: We stayed 3 nights in room #4.
Best thing about the room was the beds, the large TV, and the clean bathroom. We didn't use the hot tub so don't know about that.

Why we won't go back:
- VERY thin walls.
- Overwhelming musty odor. To make the room bearable we stuck the nasty artificial tree and flower arrangements in the closet and sprayed down the carpet with Lysol order neutralizer (a couple of times).
- Difficult shower - Once set, it didn't stay warm, got blasts of very hot or very cold water during the shower. Shower head worked very poorly or perhaps it was the water pressure. Tub was green and slimy near faucet from constant dripping. Hence we only used it once.
- Carpet and cloth chairs needed cleaning with an carpet/upholstery machine, not just vacuuming.
- Continental breakfast: one small coffee pot, tea, toast, instant oatmeal, bowl of apples and only two chairs and one table. That's all we saw.

I'm sure this place is a lot of work for the owners because it's old. We managed OK for the 3 nights but won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently and for the most part enjoyed it. Location is convenient, on the west side of town, near groceries, dining, etc. It's certainly a lodge, not a hotel, so don't expect luxury. Despite that, they have done a nice job with updating the decor and keeping the grounds. They have newer queen beds which were reasonably comfortable, and flat screen TV's with the usual array of cable channels. Wi-fi is free and worked well. Continental breakfast is free, but they also offer a full menu hot breakfast (that people love) at their restaurant just off the lobby area. As with most lodges in the Colorado high country, there is no A/C, only heat. That is usually not an issue, but the first night of our stay was a little on the warm side. They provide box fans, which cool the place off nicely when placed near the screen door or window. Only other drawback for us was the bathroom -- pretty small, shower only - no tub, so feels cramped, and the water pressure in the shower was poor (though comfortable temp.)

On balance, it's a nice place that you'll enjoy if you're fine with the limited concerns above. The owners work year round here and clearly take pride in their work. They were very helpful and deserve to be commended for their tireless work. They also offer rafting trips on the Rio Grande (for either about 90 minutes or 4 hours, float-style rafting, no guide needed) and currently will throw that in at no extra charge with a 3+ night stay (not sure if that deal applies all the time, or just recently due to the media coverage of the fires earlier this summer. By the way, you have to go well out of town and go looking for it to find any evidence of the fires, other than the fact that the Rio Grande is darker than usual due to ash in the runoff, though still not bad.) The air is clean and the scenery is still fabulous!

Room Tip: Rooms with a window on the west side get a heavy dose of morning sun through the west facing windows, and the blinds don't block it all that well. If you prefer to sleep later than 6-7 or so, you may want to request a room without a west facing window.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopofTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews