We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thje Spruce Lodge is a great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
1 review
“Thje Spruce Lodge is a great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We love the Spruce Lodge. It is a perfect old-time mountain lodge with wonderful scenery, great food, and a very hospitable staff. we hold our family reunion here year after year. We always look forward to our time at the Spruce Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    45
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
62
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

I almost detest super fancy, non-mountain, hotels in the mountains. Spruce Lodge is for real. It is genuine. You feel like you are in the mountains and staying in a cabin or lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdisbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitsfield, Vt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

This place was hard to leave, we stumbled upon in Route to Wolf Creek for the most Powder in Colorado! The accommodations we more than expected, thanks to the owners Dee and Rob's hard work and efforts. The beds were very clean and comfortable, the water was hot, complementary continental breakfast; this place is perfect for die hard skiers, snow boarders, and hunters, who want to come back to a warm relaxing family style rustic lodge at days end. The rooms were clean,tidy, and done up with a personal touch. We were all glad we picked the the Spruce Lodge! Coming back next season to stay at the Spruce, and ride the 72" of new snow in 72 hours, I'm not kidding, overall awesome adventure!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsrider77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Owners Rob and Dee provide a warm friendly enviroment. Cabin spotless and cozy. Spruce Lodge combined with Wolf Creek Ski Area are the perfect combination for the casual and also the serious skiier . Saved hundreds of dollars over aspen area. Way more snow and half the price in South Fork. This is a family safe destination where you and your loved ones will create lasting memories. The best secret in Colorado. Klaus

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiierNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

An amazing place put together with love, loyalty and lots of hard work. Managed and owned by a couple that believe in what they do and not only want you to visit, but actually look forward to your return.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamp062400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Location is beautiful. Very nice family-run business. They have put a lot of time and effort in the renovation of the old lodge. Easy access to rafting, skiing, hiking and many other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Very convenient, right off the highway; very reasonable rates; exquisite view of mountains in early morning. We had two rooms, very clean and comfortable beds. NO WATER PRESSURE for showers and baths. Breakfast consisted of eggs, pancakes, bacon and coffee. Unfortunately, some resided for longer periods than a few days in some of the kitchenette rooms (I'm guessing here) and when they cooked meals, smell was very pronounced in our rooms. Probably would not return to this facility with children.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wb1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
0.2 mi away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#9 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Property: Spruce Lodge
Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing