We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!”
Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have been staying at Spruce Lodge for 3 years now and love it! It is a great combination of down-home and luxurious. Rob and Dee, owners, are laid back and friendly and do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. The newly renovated suites with spa tubs and fireplaces are amazing. The history of the lodge is an added bonus. All this for a really reasonable price--a terrific value. So close to Wolf Creek Ski Resort, also a great value! Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

We've stayed here every year for our family reunion. The rooms are great and the location is perfect. Minutes from many local attractions and not far from the ski area. We have always experienced exceptional service. I highly recommend the Spruce Lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We have had our reunion here now for 4 years and don't think we'll ever move it. Dee, Rob, and their family are just like part of ours. There is a fire pit out back, in the evening we sit out and have a wonderful time ( Dee and her family have joined us every year) roasting marshmallows and just having a good time. If you ask for something Dee and Rob will do their darndest to get it for you. The Lodge is awsome, has lots of historic stories. Can't tell you enough about it, you'll just have to stay there and find out for yourself!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivemilemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We arrived very late in the evening,on a very cold night dec.10th,2009..What a warm welcome we received at the Spruce Lodge from DEE & ROB the owners..
A young couple going out of there way to make you feel right at home. There room rates are more then fair & in excelent condition..Made it tuff to say goodbye on departure.
We are looking forward to going back to see DEE & ROB just as soon as possible..
Wolfcreek is quite the SKI area...It,s a Skiers Mt. If you enjoy lots of POWDER & TREE SKING & no crowds,, this is the place..
The Spruce Lodge & it,s owners make it a Unbelievable Destination that you will most definetly have to revisit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We love the Spruce Lodge. It is a perfect old-time mountain lodge with wonderful scenery, great food, and a very hospitable staff. we hold our family reunion here year after year. We always look forward to our time at the Spruce Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I almost detest super fancy, non-mountain, hotels in the mountains. Spruce Lodge is for real. It is genuine. You feel like you are in the mountains and staying in a cabin or lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdisbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

This place was hard to leave, we stumbled upon in Route to Wolf Creek for the most Powder in Colorado! The accommodations we more than expected, thanks to the owners Dee and Rob's hard work and efforts. The beds were very clean and comfortable, the water was hot, complementary continental breakfast; this place is perfect for die hard skiers, snow boarders, and hunters, who want to come back to a warm relaxing family style rustic lodge at days end. The rooms were clean,tidy, and done up with a personal touch. We were all glad we picked the the Spruce Lodge! Coming back next season to stay at the Spruce, and ride the 72" of new snow in 72 hours, I'm not kidding, overall awesome adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsrider77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
164 reviews
1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
273 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
185 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Lodge
Four Seasons Lodge
#16 of 19 in South Fork
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range: £39 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing