We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This historic house is very comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Certificate of Excellence
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
“This historic house is very comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We so much enjoyed staying in the Spruce Lodge, we reserved our room for a second night. The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was wonderful after our daily activities. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Being an historic house, the floors were squeaky and we feared we would wake others in the early morning. The owners are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janejane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    45
    16
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
62
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

For us the location was key. After seveal days of riding on sport bikes the phone call from durrango confirmed our stay. To our surprise rolling in from a block away I knew we hit the mother load. Like others before us have written it's the people, the attitude, the peace, the bar next door! This 8 day ride has seen alot of hotel motels but I will only return to this one (they now offer rafting services). Thank you for making it happen.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckilleronurleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Stay in Sept while traveling on business. Was a clean and friendly place. Prices were reasonable and the owners were real helpful with any of my need. Stay in one the remodel suites upstairs and it was wonderful. This historic building was clean and fun to stay at. Would go back when next I have a business trip this way or my next planned vacation.
Rob & Dee the owners great and the cooked breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Vale, KS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Visited South Fork, CO during spring break for the first time. Accommodations were scarce, however we were fortunate to garner a couple rooms at The Spruce Lodge. We were invited to take a look at the rooms before we checked in. This historic and quaint fixture to the community reveals much more from the inside. New fixtures and beds in the rooms were very comfortable. Flat screen tv's, hot tub outside, and zacuzzi tubs in the private baths. The morning breakfasts were prepared to order and at the time which was most convenient to us. The owners, Dee and Rob, were overly helpful and very friendly during our stay. We enjoyed our stay and our trip was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorietucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We were on a snowmobiling trip and called last minute. Wonderful room rate on a 2 Bedroom suite, included breakfast! Lots of dogs and cats around, fun to hang out with. Very friendly folks, casual atmosphere. They gave us plenty of advice on places to go, eating options, etc. There is a bar/restautrant right next door called the Shaft which worked out real well. Good food. Plenty of parking for trailers/RVs

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ratzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

In February 2010 we stayed what was to be 3 nights for a snowmobile trip. We have stayed at the Spruce quite a few times before.

About a day into the trip my wife severely sprained her wrist while out riding. This was one of those injuries that started off rather small but as time grew on it became apparent and disabling. Having booked numerous days we were in a tight spot as she couldn’t ride.

Dee, the owner, was extremely accommodating. As we checked out she had a check in hand for the difference. Most lodges once its booked and paid, that’s it, no doing back.

Thanks for your understanding and great customer service, Spruce Lodge is our destination in South Fork!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SledderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I always enjoy staying at the Spruce Lodge. The rooms are clean, spacious and private. The atmosphere is low keyed and comfortable. The price is great for a vacation getaway and Rob and Dee always treat me like family.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinnerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
0.2 mi away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#9 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Property: Spruce Lodge
Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing