We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best vacation ever!”
Review of Riverside Meadows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Meadows
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our best vacation ever!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I had seen the photos, so we expected the cabins to be amazing, and the river, and the surrounding mountains and area ....

What took us by surprise was the experience of being there with Fritz, Paula, Sadi and their pets. It felt more like we were visiting friends or family then it did staying in some impersonal hotel room or cabin.

The next great surprise was that we were actually "doing" things, being outdoors, having fun, playing, like we were kids, at camp! We kayaked down the river for well over an hour, by ourselves (amazing!) We played badminton, washers, rode their bikes, went for walks, jumped on the trampoline, sat alone by a cozy fire, watching the sunset over the river. And I personally threw about a zillion tennis balls to Kenai (their dog, who is now a close personal buddy of mine :) (don't forget to take tennis balls when you go)

The last great surprise was probably the most beautiful and memorable of all, and it wasn't on the brochure either. I'm talking about the night sky there; it's so pristine and clear and bright. With no surrounding city or urban sprawl to muck up the sky, you can actually still see the stars there, and even the milky-way--what a rare treat. I had forgotten what it was like just laying back and looking up.

Eat your hearts out Corporate hotel chains, you will never be able to bottle or duplicate this experience. It was definitely the best vacation we'd ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wonderful modern and ultra-clean log cabin on a quiet wooded site only about 30 feet from the Rio Grande river. Fritz and Paula are relaxed, and could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful (even their dog is ultra-friendly). Unfortunately we had a fairly full schedule which took us away from the cabin most of the time, but next visit we'll know better and will take advantage of the free rafting / kayaking / tubing, quiet relaxing walks, and wholesome evenings with our hosts and other guests around the outdoor fireplace, outdoor gas grille, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_K17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

What a find! We stopped off in South Fork, Colorado on our way back to Texas and were so fortunate to find Riverside Meadows! The owners Fritz and Paula just happened to have one opening for one night, so we found ourselves sitting on the banks of the Rio Grande right outside our beautiful cabin having the most relaxing afternoon of our entire trip! Beautiful nordic-style log cabin, comfortable, super clean, every need taken care of. Sleeping with the sound of the river right outside our window was the best! Wonderful hosts, thank you both so much for having us! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my two friends were motorcycling through Colorado and stayed here on our way to Telluride. Excellent place. After having a little hard time locating (Fritz the innkeeper warned us not to follow Google maps) we got set up right away. Nice, modern cabins, right on the river. We were there during the fire so downtown was closed, but we were well looked after. The Innkeeper (Fritz) was on the phone with the sheriff and was very helpful in getting us groceries and also getting through town up to Creede (we had to ride with a police escort, but thereafter home free). We didn't have time to take advantage of the all the stuff there was to do (kayak, horseshoes, hot tub, etc), but I would highly recommend. Btw, ask about his funky lighted hula hoops...very cool.

Room Tip: There is no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We (2 families, including 4 adults and 6 kids and a dog) headed to Riverside Meadows for a week long vacation. Our family lives in Boulder, and we were joined by our best friends from Germany.
The week was absolutely wonderful and much of this was due to the kindness and generosity of Fritz, Paula and their sweet daughter (a great rafting guide)!
The location is private, the cabins, all spotless and so tastefully decorated, were just perfect, and the area has so much to explore, we could have stayed another week.
As many others write, it is a very unique destination and we appreciated all that Fritz and his family did to make us feel welcome. We went tubing, kayaking and rafting, right from the house, grilled every night and had a great time with Fritz' fabulous LED hoola hoops!
We had a blast and are grateful that Fritz and Paula share their little piece of heaven!!!!

Room Tip: Not exactly a swimming pool, but the Rio Grande had a great little swimming hole....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleralex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As a family we love to travel for the adventure and exploration and don't usually think about where we stay or spend a lot of time there. But Riverside Meadows was such a comfortable, inviting and unique place, that we actually spent time there just hanging out. My husband and I went for walks along the picturesque, rural road while my daughter roamed the acreage of Riverside Meadows with Fritz and Paula's daughter Sadi and their friendly dog. Fritz dropped us off with kayaks on the other side of town one afternoon, and we paddled back down to the cabins with Paula and Sadi. We also spent a couple of evenings around the fire and stayed up well past our daughter's bedtime talking with Fritz and Paula and the other guests, while the kids played and roasted marshmallows. The cabins are exquisitely crafted, the rushing Rio Grande is a constant presence, but it was the sense of community away from home that we really appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southtexasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Needing a quick get away, but only a weekend trip, my husband and I discovered Riverside Meadows on Tripadvisor. Tripadvisor has been remarkable in assisting in wonderful places to stay, but this stay with Fritz and Paula topped them all! Peaceful surroundings with all the comforts of home (and some, better). Fritz is a true craftsman and the care and thought that was involved in building this wonderful get away is apparent from the minute you drive on to the property. When we returned from dinner, Fritz and Paula offered to start a fire in their fire pit. Reflaxing in front of that roaring fire, next to the Rio Grande river, reflecting the moon, was exactly what we needed. Best nights sleep in a long time. Very clean, comfy cabin and bed. Fritz and Paula are excellent hosts and very engaging. We look forward to returning to Riverside Meadows to melt into the surroundings and leave the city behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheGoex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
4.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#2 of 3 in South Fork
230 reviews
4.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in South Fork
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
11.8 mi away
The Windsor Hotel
The Windsor Hotel
#1 of 6 in Del Norte
161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 16 in South Fork
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Meadows

Property: Riverside Meadows
Address: 2 Dodge City Rd, South Fork, CO 81154-9475
Region: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Meadows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Riverside Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Meadows South Fork, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing