We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yampa River Botanic Park

Yampa River Botanic Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A six acre gem of ponds, berms, and over 40 gardens. It is one of the jewels of Northwest Colorado and one of the few botanic parks in the state. Free to the public, where visitors can learn about local wildflowers and fauna. Open Spring, Summer and Fall from dawn to dusk. Closed in winter. Amphitheater, available for rent, Core Trail access, drinking fountain and nature/hiking trail. Can be rented for a special event. No pets.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We went early morning and so peaceful. We saw plants we have at home in our yard,used differently. Makes me want to go home and garden. Some nice terracing areas. Beautiful purples in bloom. Watch out for the Mosquitos. I would volunteer here if I lived here. It's very relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank allison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    106
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Surprisingly large and great variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Planned to swing through this attraction on a short walk down the bike path out of curiosity, but was pleasantly surprised to find it far more than a local's flower garden. This botanic garden is the real deal--I'd guess over 2-acres of meticulous gardens, massive mounded landscaping and stone work complete with flagstone pathways through every conceivable garden style suited to the rocky mountain climate.

Bring bug spray though--the heavily-irrigated sections, ponds and proximity to the Yampa River create pockets of ideal mosquito habitat, and they were voracious.

Bring a camera too--you are sure to find some things you'll want to incorporate into your landscaping at home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Beautiful, Colorful Place to Wander and Think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went there on a beautiful day in Early June and so much was blooming. A series of gardens tended by volunteers who do a fantastic job. I had the opportunity to talk with Jeff (the #1 Volunteer!) for awhile, and when you see his area, you will understand his rating. I highly recommend this little outing. Be sure to leave a couple of bucks in the donation area..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrCitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited June 2 and it was just beautiful. From the parking lot it looked rather ho hum. But once you got inside it was deceptively large and nicely laid out with numerous walking paths. The Yampa river runs by the back of it and there is access to the core trail. It is free and if you so choose there are collection boxes to make a donation. NOTE: if you are driving in,you must drive through a neighborhood with 5 high speed bumps. Go slow!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not much to see!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The park is probably beautiful in season, however, we visited the first week of May when they were still having snow in the higher elevations and the days hadn't warmed up enough for many of the flowers to begin blooming. There were a couple of people tending to the gardens while we visited but a lot more work was required before it would be presentable. Again, I think it was our timing more so then the fault of the park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yampa River Botanic Park also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Yampa River Botanic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing