We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast for lunch”
Review of The City Cafe - CLOSED

The City Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“breakfast for lunch”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful oatmeal pancakes for lunch on the garden patio. We read other reviews about this place and were looking forward to eating here. We were impressed by the food and the location. The Eggs Benedict were also very good and there is a half portion option on the menue.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KWMCTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choose somewhere else....”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The food and service were fair. (the waitress used too many terms of endearment for my taste) I had Caesar slaad with "grilled" chicken. The Caesar salad dressing was bland with no sign of an anchovy or any bright flavors, the chicken pieces were cold, tasteless and as far as I could tell baked or poached.. Not worth the money...

It was quiet , probably because the locals avoid this place...

There are much better options in Steamboat don't waste your time...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolette P, Owner at The City Cafe, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Wow Dallas - Sorry you had a bad experience and I added discomfort by being overly friendly. We are proud to guarantee excellence and had I known you were disappointed, I would have not charged for your meal or provided something else. I have been part of the Steamboat community for over 20 years and am honored to seat locals over and over and over again in my dining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golden, co
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute lunch spot”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I imagine you wouldn't even know this place was here unless you are a local or doing City business. Nothing too fancy, but nice fresh menu and ingredients.
The Chef does it all (one woman show).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest barista ever!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very good coffee and espresso, tasty food, and the friendliest barista ever! Highly recommended! The atmosphere is very nice as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little Coffee Shop in Historic Location”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The coffee is good and the pastries are made daily. The food is wholesome. The building houses the City's art collection and the architecture is interesting. The "Brand" door is there which has most of the valley ranchers' brands burned into it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsS492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The City Cafe also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing