We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right next to the Lodge at Steamboat! great little deli and grocery store”
Review of Market on The Mountain - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Market on The Mountain
Restaurant details
houston
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“right next to the Lodge at Steamboat! great little deli and grocery store”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

very convenient mini grocery store and deli (food is great, burgers at noon hour) right next door to The Lodge at Steamboat. summer hours for the grill vary, check ahead but the burgers are great. we love the soups they offer in the frozen case near the cash register. also great salads. prices on groceries tend to be high, what you would expect in a small grocer, but handy for emergency items or if you are deliberately trying to avoid going to the main 2 grocery stores on the mountain. also a wine shop on the other side of the store. more expensive than the one at City Market plaza, but again very convenient and no driving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steamboatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better Wine Shop than You'd Think”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

For a small local market tucked among the condo complexes they have a surprising selection plus a really astounding wine shop. Every type of wine is represented, from everyday drinking to top of the line champagnes. I was pleasantly surprised by the selection. As far as a market, they cover the basics well plus make some creative deli sandwiches.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SP_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shopping!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Market on the Mountain has a very convenient location and has everything you need which makes it perfect apart from the slight cost increase as compared to shopping downtown. But if you only need a couple things and dont have a car or want to take the red or blue line downtown than its totally worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just walk over and see for yourself I am sure it is close to where you are staying if you are at the base area.

Love the breakfast. The service was great and I thought they had a nice selection. Yes, it cost more than the big grocery but if you need something or want a treat it is very easy. You could easily walk here from the slopes for lunch and have a sandwich for half the price of food on the mountain.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank skidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient but Expensive!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It shouldn't shock you that the groceries and supplies here are way overpriced. If you're in town for any period of time and need groceries - go to City Market or the Safeway. That being said, I appreciated the fact that this Market was convenient to our lodging, because there are always those few things you forget or think of last minute. There was definitely a more extensive selection than I anticipated - we needed a few condiments, a few toiletry items, a few paper supplies, and they had everything we needed. So, great selection when you need it, just pricey!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenWinsNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market on The Mountain also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing