We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The personal touch of a bed-and-breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The personal touch of a bed-and-breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

When you arrive at this hotel you will be greeted by Greg, the most accomodating innkeeper I have ever met. He genuinely wants to satisfy your needs showing you multiple rooms and trying to figure out how he can be helpful. This is a family-run operation and what a difference from a chain. I have to also mention Jeff who is in charge of maintenance and is also one of the most personable people you will ever talk to if you get the chance. He and Greg built all the log furniture in the rooms and it is beautifully constructed. The hotel is an older structure that is being lovingly upgraded step-by step. The rooms are small, but with new carpet and beds. The windows in the rooms are opened for cross-ventilation; no irritating chemicals used in these rooms...they smell fresh! The pool is pleasant and very clean. The location of the hotel is right downtown and lets you walk to restaurants. There is a very nice breakfast in the lobby in the morning. I couldn't leave without asking Greg what was the spiritual source of his incredibly positive attitude; his answer: "my wife!" Wow...special people and place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    158
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
169
279
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Driving towards Steamboat we surfed TripAdvisor and happened on Nordic Lodge. The room was great. Greg grabbed three keys and told us to pick out the room we liked the best. The room was great! We had a great lunch and breakfast the next morning right across the street. Everything downtown is within walking distance. The furniture is all handmade by Greg and his family. We loved the family atmosphere, the super clean rooms and the location. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter but are older in a cinder block building. Rooms in the front are newer bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warriordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great little place to stay right in downtown Steamboat. The price is right! Walkable to restaurants, bars, shopping. Great hosts - very welcoming and helpful! Also great continental breakfast... Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0fBrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were in Steamboat on an enduro motorcycle trip when one of the guys took a pretty bad fall. We had been camping out prior and he really needed a hot shower and soft bed for the night. We drove into town and literally drove through the Nordic Lodge parking lot and continued on, searching for a 'chain' hotel. I pulled over and opened up Trip Advisor. The Nordic was highly rated, so we went back and checked in. Best idea we had that trip.....

Mark at the front desk was the best! Not only did he provide us a room which was clean and comfortable, he came and checked on us later that evening to see how my buddy was doing and offered up therapy / medical establishments he might need the following day. He suggested restaurants and even a pharmacy that was right down the road. He went out of his way to ensure we had what we needed to get through the night. Better service could not be received at a 'chain' hotel.

Breakfast the next morning was hearty and delicious with cereals, fruits, bagels, and various pastries. Coffee hit the spot and got us up and ready to continue our trip / adventure. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained, the beds comfortable, sheets clean, room well taken care of.

I would go back if ever in the area. Can't say enough good things about it. Thanks for taking care of us Mark! It is truly appreciated!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel was perfect for our summer visit to Steamboat Springs. It was a great location at the west end of downtown, within easy walking distance to the river (for fishing), restaurants and shopping. When we checked in, the manager was welcoming and helpful, and gave us several room keys to take so we could look at the rooms and choose which one we would prefer. We chose one with two bedrooms so our kids could have their own room (and each of them could have their own bed!) Our kids were so excited and loved the room! The manager was also helpful in offering ideas for activities, restaurants and seasonal events. The pool is lovely and quiet and along a small creek, and the hot tub was indoors with a glass skylight. We were also pleased with the breakfast -- though it was not a hot breakfast, it was all fresh and offered lots of variety. The management obviously went to the store every morning to get fresh bread and pastries and sliced up fresh fruit. We had stayed here before and were pleased to have an opportunity to stay here again and it was even better this time. The only thing that would make this room better would be nicer pillows and towels. They were fine, but basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed two nights in July 2013. The beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows! The furniture is made of pine poles. The room was just what we needed and the location is right on the main street, yet very quiet. The pool was a nice 80 degrees and clean. The hot tub was also clean and nice. When we arrived were were greeted as if we were family! The proprietor offered us three keys to look at rooms and choose the one that best suited us. We chose one near the street and it was still very quiet. When I asked about restaurants, the owner spent more than a few minutes loking on his tablet helping up find just right ones for our wishes. As other reviews have noted, the staff/owners make this place wonderful. Everything was super clean and I am a stickler for that! The room has ac which is a plus on hot nights! If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place, but if you are looking for a terrific place in a terrific location, with awesome service, stay here. As a side note, call the place directly and they will give you a better rate that internet bookong and this is right from the owners mouth! We will stay here again and recommend it to friends who go to Steamboat!

Room Tip: Call the inn directly for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My daughter and I travelled to a sports event, and were delighted to be met by the charming owner, Greg. He gave us our choice of rooms to stay, provided area information, and was very accommodating. The continental breakfast has something for everyone, the location is perfect, and the rooms are not decorative, but clean and comfortable. Ultimately that's what counts! I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Check them out...one by the creek was a bit too musty for me. 2nd floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAVVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#17 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs

Property: Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Address: 1036 Lincoln Avenue, PO Box 773118, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best lodging downtown Steamboat. Top rated hotel, motel and condo units, outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, refrigerator and microwave, Free Wi-Fi, walking distance to 30 restaurants, Yampa River, parks, kayaking, hot springs, skiing, ice skating, fishing, biking, snowshoeing, walking, hiking, running trails, shopping, movies, local markets, Colorado Mountain College, soda Creek Elementary, favorite place to stay, new rooms, great reviews, best location, newest rooms downtown, close, convenient, comfortable, very clean, discounted rates and packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Lodge Of Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Motel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing