We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, cozy, mountain experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming, cozy, mountain experience”
Reviewed 23 January 2008

The Mariposa was an exceptional treat! Cozy, charming western decor - fireplaces to warm our tootsies while we read books and watched the snowflakes fall - hosts Bob and Cindy were so knowledgeable about local history, events, and activities - wonderful breakfasts. We'll be sure to go back in the summer to sit out on the veranda and listen to the stream go by. We had a lovely weekend and would recommend this bed and breakfast experience to anyone visiting Steamboat.
-- Mark and Betsy

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank DenverMtnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

While our stay in Steamboat was short, the hospitality of Cindy and Bob at the Mariposa made us wish that we could stay for weeks! This cozy B&B is in a perfect setting at the "end of the road"....but within short distance to the hot springs, downtown, and skiing. We stayed in the Monarch Room with the much appreciated jetted tub and fireplace. The common areas for relaxing are comfortable with the "sunroom" having a great woodsy view. The atmosphere is everything you expect of a Rocky Mtn cottage...comfortable, cozy, yet modern.

A breakfast of individual egg strata, fruit & yogurt cup, sausage and sumptuous apple coffee cake started our day out right. As we chatted with Cindy and Bob during breakfast, the ease of the conversation made us feel as though we had known them for years!

We would heartily recommend this bed & breakfast inn; we'll be back in the future with our entire family!

Susan and Bob from Pennsylvania
December 2007

  • Liked — The setting, the location to the town, the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penntrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO and Mt. Vernon, IA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

From Susan and Bob:

We spent a 2 day honeymoon in the Monarch Room at the Mariposa. The room and the overall facilities were outstanding, and far exceed our expectations. The B&B is warm and welcoming, clean and well-kept.

The mild construction was done only during late morning, daytime. It was not an issue and was not noticed. We appreciate the ongoing care made to make the Mariposa a first rate facility.

We saw and talked to our hosts Bob and Cindy. They were warm, hospital, knowledgeable and informative of the Steamboat area, and willing to converse. Their presence was appreciated, but not overbearing.

The sit-down breakfast was a joyful occasion in that the food was outstanding, diverse, tasty and properly portioned. We enjoyed the company of the other guests. Bob and Cindy helped make us comfortable, that made for lively discussions.

We also appreciated the quiet of the place, and the privacy therein. Despite the stormy evening weather at the time of our visit, we were made to feel safe and comfortable within the Mariposa.

One regret: that we couldn't stay longer. One thing we are doing: recommending this place to as many people as possible.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We wanted to have a romantic getaway from our busy life with 4 kids and that is exactly what we got! We stayed in the Monarch room which was very cozy and comfortable. Bob and Cindy were very nice and breakfast was awesome! They had many ideas of things for us to do and we just had the best time.We will definatley be coming back and would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We had a absolutely fantastic stay at the Mariposa! The construction was well worth the trouble, making it even more perfect for a relaxing weekend! Bob and Cindy were excellent hosts, making our stay
delightful and welcoming. The breakfasts were what I would want to wake up to every day-- absolutely an amazing start. I wish my husband
could cook like Bob! Cindy and Bob gave great recommendations for dining out in Steamboat. I would have been lost without them.

We look forward to making the Mariposa an annual destination, as we have invited the rest of the family for our next tip.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarkHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Upon looking up from the directions, we had no idea we were in the correct place. The pictures of the outside of the building look nothing like the pictures on the current website. There was no visible sign welcoming guests, construction materials were in the driveway along with a port o john. We only realized we were in the right place after recognizing the hosts' names on the building permit. (The B&B sign was on the ground). The hosts did not divulge this construction project to us when the reservations were made. Staying in a construction zone is not our idea of a romantic getaway. No one greeted us and there were no signs to tell guests where to go to find someone. We finally found Cindy when I went into the house behind the lodge and called out.

Our room, Patty’s Room, had an internet description of "be lulled to sleep with the sound of Soda Creek outside your window". It was not next to Soda Creek, in fact, we did not hear Soda Creek. Instead we heard the creaking sounds of the roof expanding and contracting all night long. At 7:15 a.m. we awoke to breakfast being made and shoes clopping on the floor - not pleasant or considerate of guests trying sleep before an 8:00 a.m. breakfast - a bit early compared to other B&B's. There is no A/C (be prepared if you have allergies), and breakfast was ok – nothing gourmet. Bob was very friendly at breakfast, but it was the first time we ever saw him. Our entire visit we felt like an afterthought - right down to finding the credit card slip under a salt and pepper shaker above the kitchen sink. We signed and left without anyone seeming to notice or care about our stay. We have stayed at numerous B&B's, and unfortunately, we would not recommend this one.

  • Liked — Could walk to main street
  • Disliked — Unfriendly hosts, no signs, high density housing across the street, chemical smell in the air
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Adventure24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widerunway, Owner- Bob Maddox at Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2007
We are very sorry this guest came at a time that our construction was at it's worst. We are finishing up now and it has turned out even better than we hoped. I hope these unhappy guests will give us another try...we think you will be pleased with the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2007

I had the distinct pleasure to stay in the Mariposa recently and have nothing but the highest praise for my time spent there. Really liked the decor and felt immediately at home no matter where in the house I was at. The kitchen table made of timber was by far my favorite feature of the rustic, southwest theme. Comfortable bed, great breakfast, and lovely hosts in Bob and Cindy Maddox. Nothing but great things to say about my stay.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rodekingdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
425 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victorian
The Victorian
#1 of 8 in Steamboat Springs
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 855 Grand Street, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge is located close to the heart of downtown Steamboat Springs, yet is nestled along a quiet stream at the edge of town. This four-room property provides a unique vacation getaway in this famous ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Steamboat Springs
Mariposa Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing