We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed B&B in residential neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mariposa Lodge for a long weekend of R&R. Our room was decorated in the bears-and-Indians motif common in the West. it was spacious and clean, and we opened two windows to let in the fresh mountain air. Breakfasts were hot, homemade and quite filling--egg dishes with sausage or bacon and fresh fruit. Hosts Bob and Cindy were very friendly, providing directions to the local botanic garden, better restaurants, and popular Strawberry Hot Springs. The lodge is on the edge of town so it was away from busy ski resort lodging and quiet but still convenient to downtown. It is adjacent to Soda Creek, but we couldn't see the creek due to vegetation. The end of August was a perfect time for a break--kids are back in school and Steamboat still hums with art galleries, river rafting, sightseeing, hiking, and more. It's a very enjoyable place in the summer when ski crowds haven't arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coloradotravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

We rented the whole house for our extended family and it was perfect for our stay. There is plenty of room in the house and it is decorated beautifully. It is in a quiet location away from traffic noise. Breakfast wasn't included with our stay so we provided our own which was no problem for us. A lovely place to stay in Steamboat Springs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippersNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed three days at the Mariposa and enjoyed every minute. The owners live next door so we had the entire house to ourselves for 2 days. Bob and Cindy the owners are delightful and engaging over the big breakfast. They are local to the area and very helpful. They even lent us a backpack and emergency kit and helped us find where to go, so that we could go snowshoeing in the National Forrest.

The location is about 6 blocks out of the downtown area and centrally located to everything. I can't say enough about how warm and inviting it is in the B&B. The house is extremely clean. We stayed in the room with the fireplace and loved it! Great B&B, great owners, great location, great breakfast, great rooms. We couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSFTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Love the Mariposa in SteamBoat Springs. My boyfriend and I booked it for my 29th birthday. We were surprised to find no one else in the Bed and Breakfast on the first night. We hung out in the covered atrium watching the snow fall. The next morning we found there were two others staying at the hotel but they had a late night. The beds were huge and comfy. Each room was clean, quiet and very big.

The breakfasts were great! We are vegetarians and they had no problem cooking us a gourmet breakfast. My boyfriend even called ahead asking them to pick up a birthday cake for me. They all surprised me with it.

The couple who runs the place lives next to it. You really have the place to yourself.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Mariposa for a brief ski vacation and loved the lodge. Cindy and Bob were the perfect hosts with lots of local information, tips, and entertaining breakfast conversation. Breakfasts were hearty, fabulous - one meal included the best waffles I've ever had! The lodge has several common lounge areas that we enjoyed in peace and quiet after a long day on the slopes. The room was comfortable and decorated with a personal touch with hand-made quilts. The lodge is in a quiet location but still convenient with an easy 10-minute drive to the ski resort (which has free parking). It is a bit far to walk to downtown restaurants and shops, particularly in the winter with the snow and early sunsets, but it's only a minute's drive. We will definitely make the Mariposa our first choice for lodging if we are ever back in the Steamboat area again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank View76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Mariposa over Memorial Day weekend. We were looking for a place where we could relax but close enough to downtown that we could get a good meal or do light shopping without having to drive too far. The Mariposa is located in a quiet spot by the river actually in the town of Steamboat Springs, but you feel like you are in the country. It is very quiet, a real plus in our book. There is a large field next to the B&B which helped to give it a country feel, and river close by. The B&B is decorated in a log cabin/country casual style with homemade quilts on the beds and hung as wall hangings. Your hostess, Cindy Maddox, made most of these quilts. Each room has its own bathroom, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of space to unpack. We particularly liked the dining room/kitchen area where there is a large log dining table with benches on each side. Our hosts, Cindy and Bob Maddox, cooked up a delicious breakfast each day. They were fun, easy to talk to, and knew all about Steamboat and the surrounding area. We really enjoyed their company as well as the other guests. We were all friends by the end of the meal! We highly recommend the Mariposa if you are planning a visit to Steamboat Springs, CO. They are open year round.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyomingGalCheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Being from old fashioned europe i stumbled over the Mariposa Inn reviews at tripadvisor rather accidentally. The stay at the inn was more than good, I remember this small town as one of the friendliest place ever visited (and this is said by a guy from conservative germany where people unfortunately sometimes think in america there is a shooting at every corner ;) ). Liked the inn as well, the friendly welcome by Bob and the nice and way beyond flippant breakfast talk Cindy. To make it short - the Mariposa inn is a place to recommend.

P.S.: B&C, thank you for the postcard ;)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank der_eisvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
695 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chalet Val d'Isere
Chalet Val d'Isere
#2 of 8 in Steamboat Springs
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 855 Grand Street, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: £164 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariposa Lodge is located close to the heart of downtown Steamboat Springs, yet is nestled along a quiet stream at the edge of town. This four-room property provides a unique vacation getaway in this famous ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Steamboat Springs
Mariposa Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing