We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family location!”

Review of Bears Grande

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Steamboat Springs, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
franwalli...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family location!”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Very Centrally located for the whole extended family. Close to the slopes, shops and town centre.
Every amenity that we could possibly ask for (and more).
Spacious, warm, beautifully furnished and wonderful hot tubs to relax in.
A wonderful place to gather family and friends.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks for this wonderful feedback on Bears Grande. We look forward to hosting your family again!

Robin Craigen | Co-Founder / President
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic for large families or gatherings of friends”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved everything about this place, including the real bears who visited one afternoon! Remember to keep the garage door shut! Top-notch amenities from basement to skylights...plenty of room for privacy and for socializing. Would definitely stay again with a large group.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoot77
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was perfect for our group o 24”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

These two connected units are very well built and easily accomodate 24 without anyone feeling crowded. I would suggest it to anyone wanting to put a number of friends or family members together for a a 4 or 5 day stay. Plenty of towels, place settings, etc.
I would only advise you read carefully the instructions for using the elevators and adhere to them. I made the mistake of trying to open the interior door manually and tripped a
breaker which resulted in my being stuck for 20 minutes. No issue in the end.
Great place.....You will like i

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBerven
Dublin, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plenty of room for 5 families.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this property to celebrate my parents 50th Anniversary. The house had plenty of room for everyone and it was clean. The elevators were great for my 90 year old grandmother.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara W
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place for a Multi-Generational Family Celebration!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We rented the Bear Grande Chalet (includes both Brown Bear and Black Bear properties) to gather extended family and close friends for my 40th Birthday. It was amazing! We had 22 total guests (ages ranged from 3 to 73) and everyone had comfortable, private accommodations. In fact, this property is perfect for anyone who may be mobility-challenged, since both sides of the home have elevators (I have two family members with disabilities).

As for activities, shuttle service and the like...those of us that ski/snowboard were whisked away to the lift via Moving Mountains private, on-call shuttle service. Those that did not ski/snowboard enjoyed private in-house massages and others went on snowmobiling, cross-country skiing and tubing excursions. All these activities are quickly and easily arranged with the fabulous staff at Moving Mountains and many include prearranged or on-demand transportation to make things simple.

Our group chose to cook for ourselves and the kitchen setups are perfect. High-end appliances, plenty of dinnerware and counter space allowed for easy meal preparation. Per Genevieve's fantastic recommendation, we hired a chef/caterer to prepare a birthday dinner. Everyone raved about the food quality, variety and presentation.

We had a few minor issues with the house upon arrival. The ice makers in both kitchens were not producing ice and one garage door needed a minor repair. These issues were addressed within hours. There is no other operation I've encountered that comes close to the quality of service that Moving Mountains provides. We first rented with Moving Mountains in 2004 and will keep coming back. My sincere thanks and shout outs go to Genevieve, Amber, Sarah, Maddie and Robin for all their help in making this birthday celebration the best yet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, luxurious accommodations. All have private baths.
Liked least: We gathered more often on one side of the house, which became crowded quickly with 22. It just meant we had to split the group across the two dining areas instead of having everyone on one side. A minor nit at best.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Kara

Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the 40th birthday celebration.
We are all looking forward to working with you on future visits to Steamboat Springs.

Thank you for being a part of the Moving Mountains family!

Best Regards,
Sarah

Sales Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
It is great to hear that you had such a good time with your family, and what a wonderful family you have. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mjteacher
Shawnee, Ok
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All the comforts of your dream home, plus some!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We just enjoyed an awesome family reunion staying at brown and black bear chalet!! 23 of us loved everything about it. It had every conceivable amenity you could think of including nespresso machines!
Bedding was wonderful, toiletries smelled great, and hot tubs were inviting! The views are beautiful!! We loved it!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing