We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seven Wonderful days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Porches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Porches
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seven Wonderful days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our main purpose for choosing the Porches was because the lodges looked great and we already knew that Steamboat Springs was one of the best family cities to ski. The concierge was great before and during the stay. She notified us of a 25% discount on lift tickets and ski rentals, and she made the arrangements for us. When you are talking about 9 people, that is a lot to do. We liked the way that The Porches worked with local groups to improve service to visitors. They have an agreement with D2D to come to the lodge and fit skis, boots, and other equipment. They have an agreement with Ptarmigan Inn to store skis and poles at the end of the day. They also handle payment to the rental group and Steamboat Skiing with one bill to us.

Another thing that made it so much easier for us was the shuttle service. The drivers were prompt, courteous, and friendly. It almost seemed like they were a little psychic because we would walk out the door (from the lodge or from Ptarmigan Inn) and within minutes the shuttle was there.

The lodge (#1301) was great for our family (7 adults and 2 children (9 and 3)). The rooms were plenty big enough. The den was comfortable and everyone enjoyed the game room downstairs. We would definitely recommend The Porches to anyone!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbkochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
122
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is our second ski visit to The Porches and our next trip is already scheduled, though now we are trying the summer, which we hear is equally compelling. Our condo was both comfortable and well decorated, and convenient to everything, both on the mountain and in town. Both units that we stayed in were great hubs whether we wanted to entertain or just hang before heading into town for dinner. The service and amenities are top notch, whether coordinating before arrival, addressing ad hoc requests or transporting to the mountain for skiing or dinners in town. The concierge service provides great suggestions and makes life easy in handling requests. It was great to reconnect with the staff that we had gotten to know last year, as everyone is very friendly and customer service oriented. Hanging in the hot tub looking up at the mountain after a day of skiing cannot be beat! Steamboat itself is quite a draw, with The Porches being truly an incredible find within the community.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, the units handle more than you would think. With the bunk rooms, and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Another great stay at the Porches. "The Barn" staff and concierge were fantastic and the shuttle drivers prompt and courteous as before.
Unlike the previous stay we did have an issue this stay where the heater for the house went out during the evening. The evening staff immediately came over and addressed the issue. Additionally they came back the following day to ensure that everything was running properly.

You can check out the pictures and floor plans on their website and get a general feel for what your stay will be like but it is the personal attention to our enjoyment from the entire staff (as well as the top notch accommodations) that has us coming back.

Can't recommend these guys enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkrmit93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our stay at The Porches for an early Christmas with family exceeded all of our expectations. We were greeted by email prior to our arrival to be sure we had everything we needed. And when we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful.
We absolutely loved our condo! Beautifully decorated and plenty of space for the family to either gather in one room or enjoy different activities throughout the house. Our young kids especially enjoyed the foosball table downstairs.
The hot tub/pool area was beautiful and conveniently located across from our condo. The shuttles to the slopes were easy to access as well.
I can't think of a thing I would change. It was a great experience for us all!

Room Tip: Condos across from the barn are ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We came up with two families to Steamboat for some early season skiing (12/12 - 12/15) from Denver. From the minute we booked the Porches, they gave us unlimited access to their concierge and ensured our stay was perfect. Babysitting was arranged, dinner reservations made, and ski accommodations completed. Everything was top notch. The units are even bigger than they appear (tough to do given the photos) and we could have easily fit another family or two in the unit despite being there with 4 adults and 5 kids. I would recommend this property without any reservation to anyone heading up to Steamboat. The Porches truly exceed any expectation.

Room Tip: There is not a bad unit in this property as best as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have been traveling to Steamboat for 22 years and I never get tired of the place. What has made the experience even more enjoyable is the site, facilities, and staff of the Porches of Steamboat! They are not only professional, but great people. The amenities of these beautiful homes are comparable to a personal vacation house. From the thoughtfulness of the kitchen utensils to the thread count on the sheets, it is what you would expect if it were your own home. Couple that with the internet access and top notch appliances (Wolf stove/oven, Asko dishwasher, and SubZero fridge/freezer) make it friendly for the whole family. Emilie and her staff also make all the arrangements for anything you could ever want/need. Ranging from pre-stocked fridge items to lift tickets, they do it all and make it a true vacation.

If you are headed to Steamboat with a large group of family and friends and highly respect the places you stay, there is no other place to stay than The Porches of Steamboat.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with three couples, choose Unit 1201 with two bedrooms on the bottom floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkykingCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a four room house and it was amazing. It had 4 bedrooms, 4 baths and 2 half baths, tons of space, could sleep 12 or more. Everything was beautiful, new appliances, fresh linens, and the most well stocked kitchen I've ever seen in rental house (an I'm a chef). Down stairs was a beautiful pool table and an amazing foosball table. The shuttle service was prompt and took you where ever you wanted to go. The concierge was really easy, they booked us a trip with Double T dog sledding and the trip was amazing. Really fun and the the dogs were awesome, super friendly and a great experience. The mountain was amazing and the Porches provided easy access and convenience with the ski valet and the shuttle. Downtown was great and we were shuttled down there as well. Everything was really easy and really really nice. Like I said, we were spoiled and amazed. My two issues were that the tvs were a little dated (not HD) but we didn't use em that much cause we were constantly busy, and the kitchen sink was in a strange place in our unit. Other than that it was all amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trailhead Lodge
Trailhead Lodge
#3 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches

Property: The Porches
Address: 2096 Indian Summer Driver, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Porches 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steamboat's new standard of luxury! 3,000-5,000-square-foot homes at the base of the mountain! 4- and 5-bedroom homes fully equipped with every detail you would need for your ideal vacation! Perfect for a summer or winter getaway! The perfect place to get your family together to enjoy beautiful Steamboat! Homes sleep between 8-14 people comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Porches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing